monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We could have been standing on the great wall of China

I've been back to work for a couple of days, and I'm so tired by the time I leave in the morning, that I just stagger home and fall into bed, and pretty much stay there the rest of the day. That's why I'm not posting much, because there is nothing going on to tell about.

I still have a lot of pain around and behind my eye, and Advil and Tylenol are helping, but not enough. Today I got tired of being in pain all the time, so I called my doctor, who is back from his happy vacation now, and explained to the nurse what has been happening, and she said she would tell him about my suffering and get a prescription for pain! Yay!

I had to go back to the opthalmologist today, too, so I took my sock knitting and went to the office, where I sat next to a very nice old guy and talked to him about knitting socks. He was quite impressed, I can tell you! Or he pretended to be, which is the same thing.

When I got into the doctor's office, I had to wait more, so I picked up a magazine - Smithsonian, one of my favorites - and read an interesting article about language aquisition in monkeys, and now I have to get that issue from RA, who has a subscription, so I can copy the article for Scott.

The doctor said I need to keep using the steroid drops in my eye, becauase it's better but still needs work, and to come back in a week.

I went back home to get Kim, who needed to go to the bank, and she is still not sure of how to do all the banking transactions, so she likes me to go with her. When the dog saw both of us with our coats on, and me holding keys, she got so excited! Since we weren't planning to be gone long, we took her with us, and that was fine, except that we stopped to pick up my prescription and it wasn't ready, so we walked around the drugstore, buying this and that and waiting for my meds, and the dog was out in the car, fogging up the windows and drooling on things! Ugh!

What I'm knitting today:

RA asked me to make a couple of pair of wool socks for her son, who doesn't have a car yet, and walks to work in the snow. I'm using the Winter Socks pattern from the Knitting Vintage Socks book, and Naturespun Sport yarn in Oatmeal and Nordic Blue. I've got about half of sock #1 and about 1/3 of sock #2 done. I have both of them started because I left the first one at work, and I wanted to keep working on the them to get them done quickly, so I started sock #2 at home and now I'm carrying one in my purse and one in my work bag.

What I'm reading:

I went to the library with RA today and picked up a book by Christopher Moore that Diana recommended. She mentioned it a while ago, and it sounded good, so I was going to look for it, and then recently I was asking her if she had ever read Bloodsucking Fiends, a book I liked a lot, and I realized they were written by the same person. So I got those two books and another one by him, too, and a couple of random mysteries, so I have plenty to read while I knit the socks.

Fanfiction:

Inger recommended Blood Magic and I started reading it on Sunday when I came back to work. While I was gone, we got a new computer in our office, so all of my bookmarks are gone, and that was the only title I could think of to read that night. I'm really enjoying it. It's well-written and entertaining.

11:37 p.m. - 2007-01-23
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter