monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yarn is always on my mind.

As I was walking into work tonight, I passed some linen carts waiting to be picked up by the linens company. I pass that area every day and those linens? They smell! They smell kind of horrible and plasticky and sweetish, it's really unpleasant.

Around the corner from the linens, I noticed a new sign on one of the doors that leads into a tunnel for pipes and whatnot, and the sign is a warning that there is asbestos in that area, wear a mask when you enter.

Past that door and down the hall is another door with a big sign that says to beware of formaldehyde fumes inside, and then there's the morgue door. Nice.

Beyond that I turn the corner, through the double doors and past the vending machines, go up steps and enter the computer department. The switchboard office is clean and quiet, except for all these annoying phone calls, but at the other end of the operations area is the server room, where there is an alarm system to alert us if there is a poisonous gas leak in the server room.

You'd think the hospital would be a safe place to work, but there's death lurking behind every door!

In other news, I am here at work early tonight because the snow and blowing are so bad that Lana couldn't get to work, so Barb and I are sharing her shift.

When I got home from work this morning I couldn't go to sleep, so I took a Tylenol PM and, while I was waiting for it to start working, I sat in bed reading more of The Nonesuch, and started knitting a pair of mittens. I'm using some discontinued wool from Patons called Ballybrae, and I love this stuff! It smells so good and woolly! I'm using some leftover balls of it, and I've got two more skeins stashed in the chest beside my bed. It's the best stuff! In my closet I have a big old pullover that I accidently felted (shrunk, really), made from some dark green Ballybrae and I'm thinking of cutting that sweater and sewing it into a tote bag, just because I love the color and feel of the yarn so much.

RA is back from Arizona and she brought a knitting calendar for me! It's got some patterns, some knitting tips, and some pages have short essays about certain yarns. Those might be paid promotions, but one of them was for Bartlettyarns, and I might need to get some. It's a natural wool that smells sheepy, and could be a good replacement for Ballybrae.

Okay, I'm going to stop thinking about yarn now and knit the mittens instead.

7:49 p.m. - 2007-02-13
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter