monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Too much snow, not enough sleep


Rachel knitted this hat in two hours while we watched Metropolitan! More later...

Later...

I picked up the new Interweave Knits this morning in the grocery store, and I was so excited! Rachel was with me and we eagerly flipped through it while we waited in line. It's a good thing we did, because after a look through the magazine, we left it sitting in the rack next to the National Enquirer! There was nothing in it that we would want to make! Nothing!

Entralac socks? Why? A knitted apron? Um, hell no. There was a pattern for an attractive pair of socks, but they were actually pretty standard, nothing I needed to buy a magazine full of crap for. I haven't been so disappointed by a knitting magazine in a long time. Oh, now that I think about it, there was a plain v-neck sweater that I kind of liked, but not enough to buy the magazine. The point of the vee was off-center, and I doubt that I would make it, since it was so subtle it just looked like a mistake, rather than a design element.

Later, at home, Rachel sat on the couch and knitted a hat with some bulky yarn on size 10 1/2 needles (see picture above), and I worked on the three-color rows of the Gjende sweater, while we watched Metropolitan. I love that movie! It's about a group of wealthy college kids home for Christmas vacation and attending the parties of the season. That's all. I loved it when I first saw it, about 15 years ago, and when I saw it again I remembered that after he watched it with me, Rich asked (for the first time) why I like movies where everyone just sits around talking. Years later, he still can't understand it. Rachel loved it, too! We were thinking of starting it over and watching it again but decided to make some dinner, instead.

I didn't sleep long enough this morning, so I went back to bed and slept for another 3 hours before work tonight, and while I was sleeping, Rachel spent the entire time on the phone, talking to her friends! When I woke up, she was still on her cell phone, explaining to someone that her phone was beeping because the battery was low, and that she would get her charger and then call her back. When I got out of bed and passed through the hall, Rachel was sitting on the floor of Kim's room, talking on her phone, which was plugged into the charger. She came downstairs as I was getting ready to leave for work, and said she was all talked out!

It has been snowing all day, and we have so much snow on the ground that church has already been cancelled for tomorrow! Rich drove me to work tonight, because he wanted to see how the roads were, and also because he knew if I had any trouble getting to work, he would have to come out and help me, so it would be better to be on the spot. The afternoon shift operator is sleeping in the hospital tonight, along with a dozen other employees who live out in the country. It's supposed to snow all day tomorrow, too.

4:51 p.m. - 2007-02-24
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter