monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which baby tigers are cute like bear.

Friday evening Kim was talking about a sudden craving she had for wasabi! She wondered if we could make California rolls, so she could eat them with wasabi. I told her that if she went shopping with Rich in the morning while I was asleep, she could get the ingredients and when I woke up, I would make the sushi.

I was a little worried about sending her shopping, though, because not everyone knows how to choose a ripe avocado. I didn't think Rich was capable of it at all! I explained to Kim what it should look like and how it should feel, and then I told her not to worry about it, that I would go to the store myself when I woke up.

So today when I woke up (noonish), Kim said the stuff for sushi was in the kitchen. I asked her if she had bought an avocado, and she said yes, it was on the counter. Amazing! When I was telling her Friday night how to choose an avocado, I told her that when she brought it home, she should put it on the counter, not in the fridge, and she remembered! My reasoning was that she would probably get one that wasn't ripe enough, and if you put them in the fridge, they stop ripening, so I figured we would have to go to the store to buy a better one, but we'd be able to use hers later.

I went to the kitchen to get a Diet Pepsi, and checked her avocado, and it was perfect! So how about that? The baby can pick an avocado!

I called Rachel to see if she was up yet, since when I talked to her at 2 in the morning she was just getting ready for bed. She was up and needed to study, but she was excited about the idea of sushi, so she brought her books and came to spend the afternoon with us.

After we made and consumed our California rolls, Kim went out to lunch with Sando (evidently the sushi was just an appetizer), and Rachel and I went up to my room and watched American Movie on my little DVD player. Rachel was making notecards for drugs - and remind me to tell you about my new favorite drug, Elavil - and I knitted the foot of a sock that I started weeks ago. I finished the toe just as the movie ended.

Okay, the movie? Very entertaining! It's not for everyone (Diana), in fact, it's probably not for anyone except us, Andy, and possibly Ash. It's a documentary about a guy who wants to make movies. He's working on one, and he's got another, unfinished, movie that he suddenly decides to finish, so that he can make money on the distribution of that one to finish the newer one.

He's actually kind of an idiot and he's been working on the two movies for a few years but can't get focused and motivated enough to complete them. He has trouble with funding, too. He has a surprisingly supportive network of friends and relatives who help him. We especially love his best friend Mike, who is a major burnout, but a very loyal friend.

We started calling Mike Silent Bob, after a scene in which the two of them stood outdoors, side by side, with the taller skinny guy, Mark, doing all the talking and Mike just stood next to him nodding and drinking a Big Gulp. Everybody needs a friend like Mike!

I took a nap after the movie, because I'm working tonight, and Rachel watched cartoons and studied for about two hours. She got a lot of work done, and then she called Ash and talked to him for a couple of hours.

While they were talking, I needed to go out to the store, so she went along, with her phone to her ear, just carrying on the phone conversation while I shopped and drove back home. She was still on the phone while I sat in a chair and watched a show about baby tigers (so cute!). I didn't have any knitting downstairs to work on while I watched TV, so I picked up the bag containing her Dr. Who scarf, and started ripping that for her.

She started the Dr. Who scarf around Christmas, and had it almost done when she went to a gaming convention the first week of February. At some point she realized her gauge wasn't right, and the scarf is about 6 inches wider than it should be. You know how that goes, first she told herself it was fine, it didn't matter, but then it started to bother her, because she wants it to be right! She's planning to redo it, but sometimes it's hard to rip something out yourself that you've worked on for a long time. I brought it back from her place yesterday, when I drove down there by myself to get my iPod back!

So I ripped, and watched the baby tigers, and Rachel talked on the phone, but since she was up so late last night, she was getting sleepier and sleepier, and finally she was laying on the couch, and she had to end the phone call because she couldn't focus anymore.

So instead of going home tonight, Rachel is sleeping in the yarn room, and Kim went to sleep over at Britta's with Catsy. They are practicing their hair and makeup for prom!

12:01 a.m. - 2007-03-25
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter