monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I like cake, I just don't like frosting.

Scott called tonight, to ask about a song file I sent him, and just to talk, I think. His wife is out on Tuesday nights - she has a class or teaches harp lessons or something, so that's when he's likely to call me.

He woke me up (I was already awake, due to my useless and annoying psychic abilities), and I stayed in bed while I talked to him, but as we talked, he was eating Cadbury Mini-eggs, known in our house as Crack Eggs, because of their addictive qualities, so by the time I got off the phone with him, I was craving some Crack Eggs!

Kim was just sitting at her computer, IMing with Catsy about whether or not Sando is in love with Kim. Catsy says he is, Kim says he's not, and anyway, she doesn't like him like that. Then the phone rang, and it was Rasheed, who was calling to ask Kim if she wanted to go to the prom with him. Kim is going with Sando, so she suggested that he ask Ana, who has a boyfriend but he's 22(!) and therefore, too old to attend the prom with her. I don't know why Rasheed wants to go, anyway. He graduated from HS last year, and is in college now! Wierd.

So Kim was more than happy to get away from the house for a while and go to the store with me to buy Crack Eggs, and she needed some personal items, too, so off we went. I was interrogating Kim the whole way about the situation with Sando, and we agreed that Catsy is just being strange.

We had barely gotten into the store when I had a call on my cell from Rich, to tell me to get cat litter and cereal!

Oh the happiness, when we were back in the car, clutching a Diet Pepsi and a bag of Happy Eggs! We ripped into them on the way home, and I tell you what, we were much happier by the time we pulled into the driveway, the seratonins or whatever having done their work on our neural pathways!

I was going somewhere with all this...Oh, right, I was going to tell you what Scott said when I reminded him that Kim's birthday weekend was coming up!

I told Scott that Kim had come into my room earlier to tell me that if I hadn't gotten her anything for her birthday yet, that she would like to have a specific video game, and I said to her that she should not be expecting birthday presents, she should be giving me a present out of gratitude for that gift of life I gave her, carrying her in my body for nine months and suffering through hours of agonizing labor to give her life (stop me if you've heard this before, haha!).

Scott agreed, because he has heard that one before, and then he said that Carolyn is very excited about finding a birthday present to give Kim, because in her family the main reason that the kids got allowances or earned money for doing chores was so that they could buy each other presents for birthdays or Christmas! I was surprised at that concept, because we are so much not like that at all. Not that there's anything wrong with that!

Scott went on to say that he had explained to her that at our house if you wanted to celebrate your birthday, you pretty much had to make yourself a cake, and gather the cats around to blow out the candles, and then let them lick some of the icing! Which is not precisely true, but a very funny story!

The truth is, that I don't like cake, so once the kids got old enough to cook, I would buy them a cake mix and a can of frosting in the flavors they like, and on their birthday I would 'allow' them, for a special treat, to bake a cake and frost it! I don't think they were traumatized, and they all like to cook, so it was fun for them! What's not to like? I didn't make them clean up afterward, and they all learned a valuable skill for the future!

I was talking to Diana on the phone later and she was surprised that I didn't just go buy the kids a cake! It's because I don't like cake! The kids like to cook, and if they don't feel like cooking or are too busy playing their new birthday video game, then there is no cake, and we're all happy!

There is also the traditional birthday cookie, provided by Grandpa! He was surprised on Kim's last birthday when he called to ask if he should bring the birthday cookie, and she said yes! Ugh! The birthday cookie is a cookie the size of a dinner plate with frosting and decorating, that you order from the cookie store. I need to write an email to let them know that Kim is really too old for that this year. Unless she is hoping to get one. Maybe I should ask her.

11:54 p.m. - 2007-03-27
3 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter