monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

There were cookies after the YW program, so that made it better.

I'm so tired! Don't I always say that? But tonight I didn't get a nap before work, because I went to Kim's Young Women program at church to hear her speak and to pass her some tissues when she cried during the touching musical numbers.

I don't really enjoy those programs, and this one is a yearly thing called New Beginnings, where they talk about the events that are planned for the coming year and give awards for the things the girls have accomplished and the goals they have met toward earning a YW award. Kim is almost through all of the program and will be wrapping up her goals this week, so she is actually going to earn the award, something neither Rachel or Jeanette managed to do, so I went along to be a good mother.

I have been to too many of these programs though, so instead of New Beginnings I was referring to it as Same Old Beginnings. One of my friends who is one of the YW leaders was calling it Late Start because they were supposed to do it in January but it got postponed for one reason and another.

I sat by Sando's mother and I hope she didn't mind, because I am so cranky and sarcastic when I am forced to sit through one of these things. I took my sock knitting and knitted like crazy during the entire program, except when I was passing tissues to Kim, who is weepy when there is emotional music going on. That made me tear up a little, too, out of sympathy for Kim. I told her it was sympathy crying, because I couldn't understand the words to the songs the girls were singing, and Kim said she has heard the songs being rehearsed so many times that she knows all the words, so there is no escaping.

*****

RA came over so I could help her cast on to knit her square for Grandma's birthday afghan. I've shown her how to cast on before, but she can't remember it. She wants to knit because I do it, and she has finally finished a dishcloth that took her about a year to make, because she can only knit a couple of rows and then she puts it down (Boredom? short attention span? I don't know why.) and when she picks it up again later, she calls me and says she can't remember how to knit, so we have to go over it again. She can remember how to do the basic knit stitch now, so I just cast on for her and let her knit. It looks fine, but just like always, she knit about 3 rows and then she was ready to stop. Whatever. She's going out of town to visit her crazy sister next week, and she's going to take it with her to work on there. I asked if her sister knows how to knit, and RA said that I taught her (I vaguely remember this), but that she's forgotten how. So it's a genetic thing, then.

Oh, one more thing. This morning when I got home from work, I was checking my site meter, because I am a hitslut, and I like to know how many people read my page, and I was explaining to Rich that I recognize some of the people who read my page because I know their IP numbers, and when he looked surprised, I explained to him that an IP number is like their computer address, and he laughed and thanked me for that information. Apparently he had been looking surprised not because it was news to him, but because he was shocked that I knew it. I forgot what he does for a living. As he was leaving for work, I told him if he has any other questions, just to give me a call and I would be happy to help him out. Heh.

Looking forward to the weekend! Kim's birthday! Company! Fun stuff!


12:03 a.m. - 2007-03-29
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter