monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sheesh!

I didn't work last night, so I was home to keep an eye on Kim, and to sleep a little in my own bed, to the disappointment of the dog, who sleeps on my side of the bed for at least part of the night when I'm not home.

Kim is doing so much better today! She's eaten two cans of chicken noodle soup and an order of egg drop soup that I brought home for her after I went out to lunch with RA. She napped in the afternoon, and remembered to use the ice bags on her cheeks, which are pretty swollen, but not as bad as I expected.

I was asleep for about 3 hours this evening, and during that time, Rich went to work and brought home a laptop for her to use, so she was sitting on the couch computing when I got up at 10. As I was leaving for work, she was getting ready to take a shower, and she seemed pretty lively.

I let Rachel take my camera, or I would be able to show you pictures of Kim with her swollen cheeks. She looks kind of cute. If Rachel comes home this weekend, I'll get a picture.

So this morning when I got up, (at 3 a.m., thanks) I was sitting at the computer reading other people's journals and knitblogs, and Rachel's friend Ash had put two songs on his web page, so I listened to them and one of them was bugging me, because I couldn't understand the words. Actually I really don't get what the whole song is about, but my kids will tell you that I never understand commercials, either, and they always have to explain them to me. (I wish you could hear the bit of existential philosophy that was an explaination Scott gave me one time for what was happening in a Toyota commercial.)

So setting aside the fact that I don't get it, I was having trouble hearing some of the words, and I called Diana when I thought she would be awake - because I never know what time it is in Arizona - and I had her listen to it a couple of times, too. There was a word that sounded like 'tits', and while it kind of made sense in the context (at least as far as I could understand the context), I was surprised that Rachel's friend had used it. Not that I care or was offended, I was just surprised.

Also, Diana was sharp enough to recognize the hat Ash was wearing in a picture on his page! She asked if Rachel made the hat he was wearing, because she knew that pattern! It came from the Stitch and Bitch Nation book. Diana gave him smooth points for wearing a hat Rachel made for him!

So I wrote a note to Ash, because I just wanted to know what that word was, and he wrote back later to say that it was TEARS, not tits, and sheesh! So apparently I am an idiot. Heh, who is surprised by that? I still don't understand the song, and Rachel says it's related to my inability to grasp the concept of most TV commercials.

Tomorrow is the fiber festival, and I'm still a little ambivilent about going, so if Rachel doesn't show up to go over to it, I might not go either. I'll see. Maybe the siren song of all that yarn will call to me, and I'll find myself surrounded by wool, with no memory of how I got there...

1:18 a.m. - 2007-04-21
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter