monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I buy yarn that I may never knit.

Wow, it was so warm and sunny today, it felt like summer. Only it was a pleasant breezy summer, not the like real summer, when it's too hot and very humid, and we just lay around the house listlessly, gasping for air.

When I woke up it was noon, and I stayed in bed for a while, thinking about not going to the Fiber Fair, because I was still tired, and also, still had the impulse to be thrifty and not buy yarn when I have lots already!

Rachel called and said she was just leaving work and was on her way back to her apartment to see Ash ("Hi honey, I'm home!"), and go get some lunch. She mentioned that she didn't have anything at home to feed him, because she was too busy and never went shopping before he got there, so she should maybe go to the grocery store, too. I asked if she was coming up for the Fiber Fair and she didn't think she'd have time, what with the eating, and the shopping, and then going over to her ward building to do some gardening. Sigh.

So I wandered downstairs and called RA, who was out picking up lunch for herself and her husband, and she said she would go with me to look at yarn. She doesn't really knit, but she's gone with me to the Fiber Fest before, and she doesn't mind.

Kim is a lot better today, except for her swollen face, but even that doesn't look too bad. She asked me to bring back a milkshake for her, so I had her call my cell phone and leave a message to remind me. My phone kept beeping at intervals while I was out of the house, and it was a constant reminder to get her a shake! It's sad, but I know I wouldn't have remembered otherwise.

I can't find my sandals, and I looked around for them while I waited for RA to pick me up, but then I remembered the last time I saw them was when Rachel wore them on Wednesday when she was at our house, so I called her to see if she had worn them home, because in that case I could stop searching for them, and getting progressively more irritated when I didn't find them. She didn't answer her phone so I left a message and I still haven't heard back from her. Thanks for the love, you sandal-sneaking ungrateful little pill! You're welcome for that gift of life I gave you!

So I wore my clogs, and went to look at yarn with RA. I bid on a few things at the silent auction, and made the rounds of the vendors. I bought some sock yarns, enough worsted weight for two sweaters, and two single skeins of worsted weight for maybe mittens or hats. RA bought sock yarn for me to knit into socks for her, and a sachet of potpouri that she just liked because it smelled good.

I had a chance to look at a couple of books that I might buy eventually, and saw the Spring issue of Interweave Knits, but I can pick that up later at the bookstore.

The most fun part was seeing people that I know, the people that I only see once a year when I go to the Fiber Fair. Mostly it's people who are members of the spinning guild, and there are a couple of vendors that I buy from every year, too. I picked up a flyer for another fiber festival in Illinois later in the Summer, so maybe Rachel and I can go to that one.

One of the vendors that I buy from every year, and I know she's told me her name but I can't think of it, asked what I've been making with the wool I've bought and I explained to her that her wool is too beautiful to make something with, that I look at it and think about making something, but I know if I use it, then I won't have it any more. She didn't seem to understand that, but later I talked to another vendor that I have been buying yarn from for years, since I bought my first real wool at Mary's spinning wheel shop, and she knew exactly what I was talking about! She said that sometimes she doesn't like to sell the yarn, because she loves it, and she doesn't want to let it go!

On the way home, RA pointed out that that kind of behavior makes me a hoarder, just like those people with OCD who have 75 cats, and she's right, but at least I don't have to clean a lot of litter boxes, and sometimes I do use the yarn.

When I got back home, with Kim's shake, she was sitting on the couch with the borrowed laptop, chatting with Sando and watching the Cartoon Network. She was excited that she got an email from BYU housing today with her roommate's name and email address, and she wrote her a note. She said Sando talked to his roommate on the phone already!

I sat with Kim and watched some episodes of Case Closed that I ordered from Netflix, and while we watched, I wound a ball of the sock yarn and started a pair of socks for RA.

Scott called tonight while Carolyn was out taking an exam. They bought a car this week, and he wanted to tell us about it. I talked to him for a while but I really needed to go back to bed for a nap before work, so I passed the phone to Rich and got in bed.

And here I am, back at work, with the lovely pink wool that I got today that I'm knitting into a sock, and I have a library book, too, and what is better than that?


1:41 a.m. - 2007-04-22
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter