monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I am not interesting at all.

Kim is feeling pretty good now and she's planning to go to school tomorrow. She's still a little swollen, but she's afraid she'll get too behind on her homework. She's been working on a fairy tale for her creative writing class today, just sitting on the couch, typing away on that laptop Rich borrowed from work.

I worked last night, so I slept this morning, and then when I woke up, Rich and I drove to Rockford, where Rachel was giving a talk in her ward. She did a good job, as we expected, and we sat with Ash, who has a beautiful singing voice, so that was pleasant. There was a man I didn't know sitting on the back row behind us, and he was singing the bass part, so between the two of them, Rich said it was like hearing half a quartet. We just sing, we aren't good at it.

I knitted on a pink wool sock - yarn RA picked out at the Fiber Fair yesterday - all the way there in the car, all the way through the meeting, and all the way back home. It's really pleasant yarn to knit with, and it's pale pink, which is a soothing color. I might need to plan a road trip to Wisconsin to get more yarn from that vendor.

Tonight at work I'm knitting the second Horcrux Sock. I'm going to give this pair to Barb to wear in bed after she has her surgery next week. I'm using Woolease, or it might be Encore, in a dark blue. I'm not sure which yarn it is, because it came from a drawerful of leftovers, and a lot of them don't have labels.

I've got to get the Shimmer Shrug finished before prom so Kim can wear it, but I've got two weeks to do it in, so no problem.

I'm going to put away the Gjenske sweater and not think about it for a while. I'm just not interested in working on it, and I still haven't sewn together the last Norwegian-style sweater I made. The unsewn pieces of Telemark are sitting in the window seat, and gradually being covered by sheet music and harp accessories.

I have two sweaters in progress, the wrap sweater for Rachel, but I can't get another ball of the yarn until the end of May (v. annoying), and the cardigan I started for Kim. That one stalled because I can't find a tape measure, and now I have one, so I could get back to work on it.

All I want to do right now is make socks! I have a pair in mind, and I'm going to start them as soon as I finish the pink ones, and I've got the yarn for another pair I'm enthusiastic about. I don't want to talk about them, though, because they might be a surprise for Someone's uh, boyfriend?

3:25 a.m. - 2007-04-23
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter