monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's a miracle!

So yesterday was a just blur, really, in which I didn't do anything fun, so there was nothing to write about last night.

When I got to work, my boss was just leaving! Startled, I asked what he was still doing there, and he said there were server issues, but he was hurrying past and didn't stop to talk. (Apparently he was still around for a while, because he called later from another building to ask me to send someone over to let him in there.)

When I got to my office, Lana said that earlier the building had lost power for no apparent reason, and the network went down! That's bad news, but by the time I got there, the network was up, the servers were all working, and there were no problems at all.

The second bit of news that Lana had to share was there had been a tanker spill in a small town not far from here, and they were expecting a crowd might show up at the ER. I actually only got one call about that all night, from the police station in that town, looking for a woman who had been missing since the town was evacuated (!) and her family was wondering if she might be in the ER.

The rest of the night was just a normal slow night, and I finished knitting Barb's surgery socks, worked on the lovely pink wool sock, and read a few chapters of a fanfic that Sarah recommended.

At 5 a.m. I took a Benedryl capsule so I would be able to come home and go right to bed, and it was kicking in nicely in about 40 minutes. I was peacefully knitting and reading a library book when I heard the Maintainance guys radioing each other. One of them was outside with Com Ed, who had been working on the power all night, and he told the inside Maintainance that they were going to bring up the building to full power. Who knew we weren't on full power already? No one tells me a thing!

About 5 minutes later, the power went out. My office is in the basement, so when the lights go out, it is seriously dark, as we found out about a week after our office moved down there and there was a power failure. Since then, we have a flashlight in the desk drawer, and emergency lights have been installed, so those kicked on immediately.

A power failure sets off all of the alarms that are monitored in my office, so I was shutting those off when the calls started coming in to tell me that the network was down, and you know, I can call someone from the IS dept to come in and take care of it, but I can't call until I can stop answering calls from every damn department letting me know that we're down!

So yeah, it was a little busy for that last hour. Not as busy as if it had happened during the day, thankfully, but it was steady, and I just kept saying, "We know the network is down, someone is coming in to take care of it." That's all they want to hear.

When I woke up this afternoon, RA came over and brought some lunch, because she'd been cooking! Woot! She bought a frozen turkey on a whim last week, and when she got home from the store, she carried in her groceries, all but the turkey, and got distracted once she was in the house, so the turkey was almost thawed by the time she opened the trunk again! Salmonella, party of one? She cooked it right away and she's been bringing over turkey sandwiches for lunch every day!

Today she also brought our new (don't laugh!) exersize poles! She bought a women's magazine at the grocery store last week, because there was an article about exersizing, and also a recipe for chocolate cake - why do both of those things appear in the same magazine? When she read the article, it was about walking with European walking poles, and because we are all about exersize (snort!), she ordered a pair for each of us!

We were going to try them by walking around my block, but after we ate our salmonella turkey sandwiches and I took the dog out for a potty break, she had to go to an appointment, so I'll have to read the instructions and play around with them by myself.

Just looking at these poles, I think it's going to be weird and embarrassing to walk in my neighborhood with them, so I might just try them in my driveway and then tomorrow go over and walk in RA's neighborhood where no one knows me.

Rich just rolled his eyes when I told him about the miracle! walking poles! because he is used to me getting all excited about one thing or another and going all out with it for a week, and then the whatever-it-is just sits in the corner of the den or the bedroom for the next year until I get tired of looking at it (or hanging clothes on it) and take it to the Goodwill.

Okay, I'm going to go read the instructions and maybe practice in the driveway with my new miracle! poles.

1:56 p.m. - 2007-04-24
3 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter