monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We're having hamburgers later.

So Friday was absolutely the Lost Day, because Thursday before bed I took one of the cute little green pills the doctor prescribed for my hives, and they knocked me out!

I woke up in the morning on Friday, so groggy that I couldn't do anything, so finally I went back to bed and slept for another couple of hours. When I woke up again, I did a load of laundry and then sat in front of the computer for a while, and I was still sleepy, so I went back to bed and slept for another hour. When I woke up, RA called and wanted to go out for a chilidog.

She picked me up and we got a chilidog and a big Diet Pepsi, and she had an errand to do, so I just rode along, drinking my pop and trying to wake up. When she dropped me back at my house, I slipped on my shoes that I had kicked off in the car, and I saw that I had put on two very different shoes! They were both slipons, so I didn't have to actually look at them, but I think I would have noticed, if I hadn't been semi-comatose!

All evening I could feel myself gradually getting more awake, and I did manage to take a walk with Rich and the dog, but I sure accomplished nothing during the day.

Today I'm feeling much more awake, and I'm just taking my regular antihistimine, not those green knockout pills. It says on the bottle that I can take up to three of those a day, but I'm afraid if I did, I would fall asleep and miss the next several months of my life.

I am still covered with hives, though, thanks, and there is nothing prettier than that, except maybe some painful shingles, so yeah, don't hate me because I'm beautful.

I'm making french bread today, because when we ate at Panerra with Rachel on Wednesday, the baguettes were so good, and I've been wanting to enjoy that again, but the closest Panerra is an hour away in Rockford, so I'm making bread!

I'm using the French-style bread recipe in the Beard on Bread book, and he is quick to assure the reader that it is not authentic French bread, which is apparently so complicated that it's more like alchemy than baking. However, I think it will be good enough. I'm also soaking some cracked cloves of garlic in olive oil to eat with the bread.

I'm going to make hamburgers later, which is a big treat in our house, not like when I was growing up and we had hamburgers, baked beans (in the glass jar!), and hash browns about three times a week. Because we ate them all the time at my house when I was a kid, my poor children were deprived of hamburgers as children, and when they got them at someone elses house, it was a huge treat! I even bought buns, and...wait for it...Ketchup!

Some People (Scott) think it is a huge funny joke that if you look in our refrigerator, you can find six kinds of mustard, and three bottles of rice wine vinegar, but there is rarely any ketchup. One time he was entertaining some girls by complaining about the lack of ketchup ("Every other American family has ketchup, what are we? Communists? We are the only house in the midwest without ketchup!") and then they all went out to eat, and one of the girls put the bottle of ketchup from the table at the restaurant into her purse and presented it to him later!

So that's what's going on today. Rich is upstairs doing Tae Kwon Do, Kim is at the Saturday D&D game, Rachel is out of town with her um, yeah, and I am making bread and buying ketchup. Because I am not a Communist.

3:24 p.m. - 2007-05-12
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter