monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which Rachel just needs to put down the crack pipe.

With Rachel gone all weekend (again), and Kim ignoring me while she plays Guild Wars online with Sando and Catsy, it's been a long, boring weekend.

It was so boring that I agreed to go shopping with Billy No-Mates yesterday and that is how I found myself in the mall, trying to figure out if the mall security guard who kept passing by was really who it looked like - one of the former security guards from the hospital!

Everyone here thought he was a complete idiot, so it was a relief when he went away to police training academy, but he didn't pass the physical training, and then I heard he was in the Army or something. Well, whatever, because now he's policing the mall, heh.

So yes, shopping with Billy N-M wasn't as bad as I was afraid it was going to be, but nothing could be as bad as it was in my imagination. He actually made quick decisions, and didn't make me wait forever while he tried on clothes, so that the actual shopping wasn't painful at all. He didn't mind going to World Market to look for the ingredients for Pad Thai, either, so really, it wasn't a bad trip. Well, except for going to the mall, which was totally unnecessary, because he did all the shopping he wanted to do when we were at Old Navy, but he wanted to go to the mall to eat! Ugh, go fig.

The food court at the mall is noisy, stinky and full of people, why would I want to spend any time there? I certainly don't want to eat there!

So that was Saturday, and that was also the day that Rachel was attending her friend Dave Cook's wedding in St. Louis. She called me in the early evening and sounded distraught - she was suffering from exhaustion and raging PMS, so I told her to take some Advil right now and to take more every four hours. Poor Ash, I hope he was able to figure out why she was so cranky. Rich says he should get used to it, that PMS has been his constant companion for many years. Rich needs to shut up.

When I talked to Rachel today she sounded a lot better, so she must have gotten some sleep. She is still staying with her friends, and Ash is there, too. She called tonight full of wedding plans, and apparently they were all smoking crack brainstorming, because they were just full of interesting ideas. I was getting a bit stressed listening to it all, so I told her to write it all down so we can talk about it when she comes down gets home. There's no reason for me to get all strung out over her plans when they will be changing every 5 minutes, anyway.

So that's my weekend, shopping, a trip to the mall to remind me of why I never go there, and wedding plans. Oh, and the Monk Marathon on TV, so I got quite a bit of sock knitting done.

What I'm knitting today:

  • Socks for Rachel in handpainted wool from the Fiber Festival. The color is a darkish coral, the body of the socks is knit in 3X1 rib.

  • Maroon sock #1 in Diagonal Rib pattern found on the Interweave Knits website. The yarn is some superwash from Knitpicks.

  • Sitcom Chic sweater just needs some finishing. I tried it on Kim and it's a little small, so I hope it fits Carolyn.

  • Sleeve #1 of the Starsky sweater (from Knitty.com) for Rachel. I started with the sleeve, and I'm calling it a big swatch. I'm using some chunky-weight acrylic I bought at Verna's years ago, and I just hope I have enough of it, since there isn't any more available!

    11:31 p.m. - 2007-05-27
    1 comments

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter