monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I will sleep when I'm dead.

Why I hate my neighbors today - The neighbors who live in the house behind us are the most annoying people in the world. Every summer they have some renovation project going on, and they hire contractors to come over and run noisy machinery in the morning, sometimes as early as 7:30! I know the whole world can't stop and be quiet while I sleep, but really, there were Jackhammers today!

One year they had the loud radio roofers, one year they built a new patio, last year there were jackhammers tearing up the driveway so they could make it bigger, this year they are apparently ripping up part of the patio to put down some new ... patio? I don't know what they're doing, but I hate them. I hate them and their little Xanadu of a house, and I wish they would get a quiet hobby, instead of constantly working on the house! They need to learn to play golf!

So I woke up at 10:30 to the sound of jackhammers, and I tried to go back to sleep and ignore it, but it was too loud! I finally took stronger drugs so I could sleep through it, but it was unpleasant, and my sleep was very interrupted.

When I woke up at 5:30, groggy from drugs, my first thought was that since I slept all day, I still hadn't gone shopping, so there would be nothing to eat. Much to my surprise, Rich had foraged in the kitchen and cooked the rest of the brats, and Kim had brought a plate of homemade chocolate chip cookies home from Catsy's house! Sounds like dinner to me!

Fortified by brats and cookies, I called RA and we went out to the store. We stopped for sodas first, and then we went to the store where Sando works and took him with us to the jewelry counter to get his correct ring size. RA bought CTR rings for all the seniors in her seminary class, and a couple of them didn't fit, so she's going to exchange them. He wears some gigantic size like 12 (maybe 11, I don't remember now), and I held my tiny monkey paw up to his hand for comparison - his hand is big, like bear! I should have known, having tripped over his monstrous shoes in my hallway many times, that his hands would be large, too.

After that we went grocery shopping, and I feel much better about my life now that I have something in the house to eat. Of course, now people will expect me to cook, but it's much easier when there is something in the cupboards!

When I got back home, Rachel was calling to tell me how sick she is. She was starting to feel bad this morning when I talked to her, but she had to finish a painting project at Sarah's before she could come home from her weekend visit, so she stayed to work on it, and felt really terrible by the time she started driving home. She was planning to go to bed early, covered in Vicks Vap-O-Rub, and probably taking something to help her sleep, so I hope she'll be feeling better tomorrow. It's her last day at work at the doctor's office, and she really doesn't need to be there, spreading her filthy germs around! If they're smart, they'll send her home early!

I'm going to work on the toe of the coral wool sock tonight, and finish it! When that's done I can start something new! Woot! I cheated, though, and started the new sock already, when I was in bed this morning, waiting for the sleeping drugs to take effect. I'm using some orange Trekking XL to make a pair of Jaywalker Socks. I've only got about 1/2 inch of the ribbing done so far. I think the pattern is from Magknits.

11:41 p.m. - 2007-05-29
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter