monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I get yarn, Rachel gets better, and the dog gets to lay on the couch. Everybody's happy.

I've been knitting on the Jaywalker sock and the cuff is almost done! It's the only thing I want to work on, because it's easy and fun and it looks great!

Last week I may have ordered some yarn, possibly because I was bored, and today I got the first shipment of it. There was a box from Knitpicks on the counter when I woke up in the afternoon, and in it was the two skeins of Elegance that I needed to finish Rachel's wrap sweater, two undyed skeins of sock yarn, that I might use for a baby shawl, some Alpaca and Silk yarn in a lovely muted purpley color called Sangria, and a book of baby and mother patterns with the pattern for a maternity sweater that I want to make for Carolyn, using the Sangria yarn. So that was very exciting, and I'm still expecting two more shipments of yarn from other sources.

So Rachel is still sick, but is feeling much better since she went to Student Health and got some antibiotics for what she self-diagnosed as strep throat, but the young doctor at Health Services thought was more likely to be mono. Which is kind of funny, because a few years ago, when she actually had mono, the doctor we saw thought it was more likely to be strep, but well, she was wrong.

Rachel was feeling good enough, and had slept enough, to drive up here, and she got here about 6:30 this evening. She came up planning to sit on the couch and play Zelda to amuse me while I knit, but she brought everything she needed, except the game. We're going go to Dekalb today with the van to bring back some things from her apartment, and one of those things will be her Zelda game. She has to be here for orientation at the hospital all week, starting Monday, so we'll get enough of her things to get her through a week.

Kim was gone when I woke up today, leaving a note on the counter that said she was going to the rehearsal for her graduation ceremony, and then over to Britta's house. Later she dropped in and picked up a few things and went back out to Britta's, saying that she and Catsy were sleeping over there tonight.

So it was a quiet night at our house. I knitted and Rachel talked on the phone for a while after Rich went to bed, then I played a little Animal Crossing just for fun while Rachel was still on the phone. Rachel was sitting at one end of the couch, with her backpack and purse spread over the rest of couch seat, and Buffy wandered into the living room when Rich went to bed. She looked sadly at the full couch, and then looked up at Rachel, who wasn't paying any attention to her. Buffy walked back and forth in front of the couch a couple of times, and then came and looked at me in a sad way, so I told Rachel to move her stuff, and as soon as she cleared the cushions, the dog jumped up and lay down with her head on the pillow. Ahhh, the happiness.

4:30 a.m. - 2007-06-01
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter