monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which it is humid but I cooked.

Day Two of the hideous humidity, and I don't know why I am acting like humidity is rare in the Midwest, because it's always like this in the summer, but it seems especially noticeable right now. It's a terrible, cell-phone-destroying humidity, people!

Which reminds me, my replacement cell phone arrived on my doorstep this evening, and it is happily charging itself in the living room. I am so happy! The only thing that could make me happier would be if I find that the numbers from my old contact list can be transferred to my new phone. I'm hoping that they can do it at the cell phone store tomorrow, and if they can, well, I am not ashamed to weep tears of joy.

Rachel had a day off from work today and she sat on the couch in her pajamas all day knitting a stuffed rabbit with fun fur yarn. When she finished the body, she held it up and we admired it's resemblance to a condom, a white, fuzzy condom. Amusing, but impractical.

I went shopping with RA and bought the ingredients to make Pad Thai, and then slaved over a hot stove in the kitchen, boiling rice noodles and making the Pad Thai. Rachel moved from the living room couch to the breakfast nook with her willie warmer stuffed rabbit, and kept me company while I cooked.

The Pad Thai was good, but it was way too much work. I think that Pad Thai is one of those things, like bacon, that is better to order in a restaurant, than to make a big mess with it at home. Rich didn't like it, and I'm not sure why. He's not a fussy eater, and he will eat just about anything I made without complaint, but once in a rare while there is something that he just doesn't like.


After dinner, I went back to bed and napped for a couple of hours. I woke up in time to get a walk, and Rachel, who was finished with the rabbit, finally got dressed so she could walk with me.

And now I'm back at work, where it is cool, and I have knitting - sock #2 of the white pair, and I have a good (so far) fan fiction to read. It's called White Horses, by Jackie Stevens, who is writing a WIP called Black Sheep that I've been enjoying, but while I was waiting for a new chapter, I found some other stories of hers to read.


11:58 p.m. - 2007-06-27
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter