monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I might be too tired to knit at all.

I didn't work Thursday night, and in the interests of getting a good night's sleep, I took two Advil PM tablets at 8:00 while I was knitting and watching Rachel and Ash play Paper Mario. By 10, I was sleepy and oh man, it felt good to crawl into bed.

I wasn't so happy when I woke up at 6 in the morning. I had a sleeping pill hangover, and a big headache, and as soon as I sat down in front of my computer to check my email, RA popped up an IM to see if I wanted to go for a walk and then out to breakfast! Not so much.

I told her to give me a few minutes to wake up and drink my Diet Pepsi, but when I had sucked down the life-giving fluid, I still felt a bit crap, so I went back to bed.

I woke up two hours later. When I woke up I could hear Rachel out in the hall, and she came in and got into bed with me, followed by Ash, who is learning our ways. Everybody gets in my bed, and we watch TV, eat, play video games, knit, and generally live there. I love my big bed!

I felt guilty for abandoning RA, so after a little while I called her (from my bed) and she sounded suspiciously sleepy. She said she had gone back to bed, too!

I had a hair appointment at 9, so even though I was dying to skip it, I dragged out of bed and went to the salon. My hair looks great now, so I'm glad I went. Anyway, it's fun to talk to everyone there, and they give me Diet Pepsi, so what's not to like?

When I got home, Rachel was leaving for a 12-hour shift in the ER, and Ash was sitting down to Kim's desk, where he had set up his computer, and he started playing World of Warcraft.

Obviously no one needed my company, so I went out with RA to get some library books and buy bread. It's cooler today but I just didn't feel like making bread.

After the library I sat at my desk and started working on wedding invitations. I bought embossed cards that we could print ourselves, and there is a website to use as a template, so it should have been easy, right? Well, it wasn't. I couldn't get the text centered, and I tried it a couple of different ways, but finally I called RA, and told her to come over and bring chocolate and help me print the announcements!

RA came to the rescue! And brought chocolate! Woot! She solved the centering problem by not using the template on the website. She cut and pasted it in to Word and it was brilliant! After she left, I printed the invitations, and forced Ash to admire them, when he wasn't busy killing things in his game.

Rich came home for lunch, and then, well, I got sleepy and went back to bed. I took a two-hour nap, and then got up and found Ash, still in his pajamas, playing W of W. I just thought that was funny.

So I made dinner - chicken and potatoes with 40 cloves of garlic, mmmm. Rachel came home for lunch, and when she left, the rest of us ate dinner in front of the TV like all American families, and then Ash went back to WoW and I was going to start printing enclosure cards for the announcements, but then Billy No-mates IM'd me.

He was feeling sorry for himself, which was just stupid, because I know that someone in our office tried to arrange a surprise party at a bar after work for his birthday, but he found out about it and blew it off. What an idiot. Still, he was being pitiful, and I asked if he wanted go for a walk, just to get out of the house. He did, so I told Ash he had to come with us to dilute the mix, because you know I can't listen to Billy go on about whatever stupid thing he heard on Aunt Sue's Sex Show, or something like that - it's a call-in show, I think, and ugh, the things they talk about!

So we all went for a walk and then felt like we hadn't wasted the entire day sitting in front of our computers (when we really had).

And then I knitted and Ash played you-know-what, and Rich watched a movie on TV, and it was lovely and peaceful. Rachel came home at about 10, and told us about the day she had at work, and I went outside for a few minutes to see if I could sneak around and find the source of the smell of pot that has come drifting in the front windows for the last two nights. I didn't figure out where it's coming from, but it's interesting to speculate, since I don't have any young teenage neighbors, so I have to guess that it's one of the my responsible grown-up neighbors. It's a puzzle.

So I'm back at work, and I finished the first Bellatrix sock. It's beautiful! I would immediately begin casting on for the second sock, but I kind of want to start the new design, called Fawkes. I don't have any flame-colored yarn, so I was thinking of making it with some of the white nurse-sock yarn. It wouldn't look like a burning phoenix, but the lacey flame design would show up nicely. Maybe I'll just work on the second Bellatrix sock, those are really fun.

2:14 a.m. - 2007-07-14
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter