monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And then I dyed.

When I woke up today, everyone in my house was gone, and I had a vague notion that Rachel had been in my room and told me that they were golfing. I kind of remembered the phone ringing, and that it was a call for Rich from someone at work, and it was after that, that Rachel came into my room and said she was taking Dad golfing so no one from work could call him.

So yeah, empty house. I called RA but she wasn't home, so I made some breakfast and knitted a little more on the green baby sweater while I waited for everyone to come home. I can't play Animal Crossing because one of the other game machines is connected to the TV, and I don't know how to change the connection!

Eventually the golfers came home, and were happy about their game. Rachel wanted to make sushi, and there was some chicken to put on the grill, too.

Rich went upstairs to take a nap, but Ash is a man, and knows how to grill and is not afraid of fire like some people (me), so he started grilling chicken while Rachel cooked rice for sushi.

I steamed broccoli for a Chinese broccoli salad, but then discovered that there was no sesame oil, so I made a run to the store for the oil and a couple of other things we needed.

When I got home, Rachel had sent Ash upstairs for a nap, too, and she was in charge of burning grilling the chicken. We made the sushi rolls, and she finished the chicken, and I wandered off to look for yarn.

Remember the Bellatrix socks? Well, if you go back to the Socktopia website, you'll see the second Harry Potter-themed sock. It's called Fawkes, and it is shown knitted in flame-colored yarn, because the lace pattern is meant to look like flames.

I had already checked my stash of sock yarns and didn't find anything flamey, and I was really, really wanting to start the Fawkes socks. Then I remembered the wool and silk blend sock yarn I bought from Knitpicks in plain white, to make nursing socks with! When I got the yarn, it was just what I wanted for a baby shawl, only I didn't have enough of it, so I was planning to order more, but I'm tired of arguing with the Knitpicks website when I try to order, so I'm not going to order more of the yarn from them.

That white yarn was sold on the website as yarn that was meant to be dyed, and ZING! I thought about that, and remembered about dyeing with Kool Aid, so when I was at the grocery store, I bought some Kool Aid!

I sneaked around upstairs and found both skeins of the white sock yarn, and after we ate lunch, Rachel and Ash left to meet people in Dekalb, Rich took Buffy for a walk, and I cleaned up the kitchen so I could spread out the dyeing supplies!

Here is my yarn, resting in the dye:

And here it is, after the rinsing, hanging up in the bathroom to dry:

I checked the yarn before work, and it was still pretty wet, so I brought it to work in a plastic bag, and hung it up on a hanger in the server room. It's really windy in there, thanks to the two huge air-conditioning units, and the extra fans. Woot! I can't wait until it's dry!

11:10 p.m. - 2007-07-14
3 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter