monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Looks like a good place for a drive-by!

When I woke up today, I got dressed right away and went with Rachel to Rockford to put a deposit on an apartment. Rachel was driving, and I took my Bellatrix sock (#2), and bought a gallon of Diet Coke at McD's to drink on the way.

I hadn't seen the apartment, but I had my doubts about that apartment complex after I went there with Rachel last week to turn in the application. The leasing office wanted too much information, for one thing, and that indicated that they have a questionable clientele. Also, I got a look at a couple of tenants, and they didn't look like ideal neighbors. The whole place just seemed like a good place for a drive-by shooting.

So after we looked at that place last week, I suggested looking at some other places, and we drove to a nice little town near Dekalb to see what was available there. We toured one place and took an application, but neither of us felt very enthusiastic about it. The best part of that trip was the visit to a yarn store we've never been to on the way back home.

Today we were going to give the tenement complex a check for a deposit, and while Rachel went to the office, I cleaned all the trash out of her car, because you all know I am not fastidious, but I tell you what, she had a lot of trash in there.

Then Rachel came back to the car and said they wouldn't take a personal check, they wanted a cashier's check, and I said, "That's because they rent to people who are cooking meth in their kitchens, and you need to find someplace else to live!

Which started us on a long afternoon, but we ended up finding a good place. We went to Borders to buy a newspaper and look at the ads, and of course Rachel had to get a hot cocoa and I had to spend money on books, and buy a map, too, so we could find our way around town.

Rachel called Joe to get the number of a friend of theirs who had actually lived in that apartment complex a year ago, and then she called the friend to ask about life in the meth lane. Yes, it sounded pretty harrowing, and I'm glad the kids won't be living there!

So we circled a couple of likely places in the newpaper, and went to look at the first one, and you know what? It's great. It's in a nice neighborhood, near a beautiful park, and a golf course (!), and the owner lives and works nearby. Rachel called Ash from the car outside the building, after we saw the apartment, filled out an application with him over the phone, and we dropped it off with the owner.

After all that, we didn't get home until about 7:30! Rachel put a roast in the oven, and I went to bed for a nap before work. When I woke up, there was a perfect pot roast, like magic!

We were putting on our shoes for a walk after we ate, and Buffy got all excited! Walk! Rich got up and got her leash, and we all went on the two-mile walk. It was so humid that the air was steamy, and dogs get tired about 3 blocks into the walk, but we trudged on, and were so sweaty by the time we got home!

I had a note in my email tonight from the photographer, saying that we can pick up the engagement photos tomorrow, so it looks like RA and I will be driving into the wilds of Wisconsin! I hope we don't get lost and drive all over like we usually do! If we don't end up in Iowa, we'll be stuffing envelopes tomorrow night, and wedding announcements will go in the mail on Wednesday!

Sock progress:

Still working on the leg portion of the second Bellatrix sock. Briefly panicked today when I thought the stitch count was wrong, but it was fine.

I'm knitting the Fawkes sock with the pretty Kool Aid dyed yarn, and it looks good! I started the heel flap on sock #1 last night.

12:40 a.m. - 2007-07-17
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter