monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I have a pair of earrings, if Rachel doesn't lose them.

So yesterday I saw an earring laying on the table in the hall where we all drop our purses, backpacks, sweaters, whatever, when we come into the house. It was one of the earrings I bought in Mexico last year, and I was happy to see it, because I had been wondering where they were, but wait! Only one of them was laying on the table!

Rachel is in the habit of scrounging through my jewelry for earrings whenever she feels like it, so I was sure she had something to do with the lone earring on the table, but she wasn't home to question about it.

I guessed that the earrings had been in her purse and one fell out on the table, so I hoped I would be able to get the other one from her when she got home last night.

When she got home I told her about the found earring, and asked if the other one might be in her purse, and she told me she thinks the other one is in the ashtray of her car! Apparently she found it laying on the floor in her car, glanced around for the other one, and when she didn't see the second earring, she put the one she found into the ashtray and was hoping the other one would show up!

I asked if she was planning to just not mention it and hope I didn't notice, and she just nodded and laughed guiltily! You see how she is? And this is the same person who said I was a thieving monkey when I was helping her move her furniture back home and I put the blue cupboard in the den and set the TV on it! I didn't pretend it followed me home! I was gonna give it back!

So last night I took the mp3 player that I bought to replace my stupid messed-up iPod, and I loaded a couple of things on it, including a podcast by the Mighty Kymm, and went for a walk all by myself. It wasn't bad. I do feel a bit self-conscious walking alone, but I need to get over it. So the podcast - it's a little annoying to listen to her unscripted babbling, but she told an interesting story and played some songs by someone she dated in college who is making CDs now. The songs were great, and made it worth listening to the inanity. I love Kymm's journal - I've been reading it online for 10 years and it inspired my own - and it was fun to actually hear her voice, .

The two-mile walk to the end of our street and back goes past the hospital, and as I walked by, I could see (and hear) a helicopter on the roof, and it took off as I was passing again on my way back. I kept walking, because I have seen choppers take off a few times and it's not all that thrilling, but in a few minutes, instead of the sound fading behind me, it started getting louder, so I turned to look back, and there was a second helicopter coming in to land! I thought then that Rachel must be having an exciting day in the ER, and when she got home last night, she said it was pretty wild.

We're going to go to Rockford today and take some of her things to the new apartment (she's got her yarn stash in boxes in the trunk of her car), so I'd better go get a shower and get dressed.

8:36 a.m. - 2007-07-27
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter