monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I had good tacos, and did some other stuff, too.

I'm not at work tonight, but I went to sleep early, like 9, and woke up at 2 and can't go back to sleep. I just took a Tylenol PM so I can get to sleep again, so I'll just write a little bit until it starts to work.

When I got home from work Thursday morning, Rachel was asleep, but I woke her up to ask what time she was planning to leave with Ash, who was asleep in the guest (yarn) room, to make the trip to Carthage, IL, about 4 hours away, to get their marriage license. She said they were planning to leave by 9 a.m., and it was 7 then.

I lay down on her bed with her (it's queen size, so there was plenty of room) and told her something funny that someone said at work, and then we laughed about the cats, and probably because we were both tired, we just kept talking and laughing. Ash woke up and passed by on his way to the bathroom, so while he was in there, we moved to my bed, so he could get in bed with us, too. We told him about how Rachel taught Kim to ride a bike by sending her down a hill but forgot to tell her how to stop, which is a funny story in which Kim ended up skidding on her stomach, but hey, good thing she's tough!

Eventually I went to sleep and they left for Carthage. I hadn't gone to sleep until after 8, and then Rachel called at around 10 to ask me something, but I don't remember what, since I answered the phone in my sleep! I woke up again at noon, so I had about 4 hours of broken sleep, but I got up anyway, because it was my day off! I don't want to waste it sleeping!

When I got up, I called RA to see what she was doing, and she said she'd made a list of errands she needed to do, including a doctor appt. at 2:30 in a town about 30 minutes away, and she asked if I wanted to go with her. Of course I do! So she picked me up, and we started our (low-key) adventures!

I got dressed, and checked my email before RA picked me up, and next to my computer I found Rachel's wallet! I called her cell phone and told her I had her wallet, but she said she wouldn't need it for ID, according to their directions for getting a license. I took her wallet with me when I left the house, just in case she called to say she needed me to fax a copy of her drivers license to the courthouse in Carthage!

We stopped to get a chili dog (for breakfast!), and while we were eating, I called the eye doctor, because my left eye has been feeling inflamed again, which has been happening about once a month since I had Shingles! They said they could squeeze me in if I went straight over there, so RA dropped me off, and she went on to do errands, and told me to call her if I finished in time to go the doctor with her. Otherwise, I planned to just walk back to my house. The eye doctor's office is in my neighborhood, about a mile away.

So I'm back on steroid drops in that eye, and I was out of there in an hour. I called RA, and she picked me up. We headed out of town, and she said she hadn't gotten any of her errands done, because after she left me, she got a call from a girl who is like a daughter to her, and that girl needed a ride, so RA drove her somewhere and had just finished when I called. No problem! We'll do those errands after RA's doctor visit!

The errands were very minor - just to drop off library books and dispute an overdue charge on some previously returned books, and to turn in our entry forms for the country fair. So nothing earth-shaking if they didn't get done; we could do them Friday if we had to.

I had some sock knitting and a book with me, so I knitted and read peacefully in the waiting room, disturbed only by some hillbillies, one of whom asked me what I was making, and when I told her, she said what all idiots say, "I don't have the patience for that." Well, you have a mullet and I don't, so that's two things about us that are different, now shut up and let me read. I usually explain that I knit because I don't have patience to sit and do nothing, but I couldn't be bothered on three and a half hours sleep.

When RA was finished, we decided to drive to Oregon, about another 20 minutes away, - a really pretty, woodsy drive through the country - to visit a yarn store there. I need one more ball of black Shimmer to finish the bolero jacket for Kim, and Rachel thought they had it at the store in Oregon. It's a Lion Brand yarn, and I can usually get it at W@lmart or Jo@nn Fabrics, or Verna's shop, but everyone is out of it!

The yarn store was closed when we got there at 4:30, but at that point we were halfway to Rockford, so we decided to go there and try Lobby Hobby for the yarn. We were fortified with the gallon-sized Diet Cokes from McDs, and it was beautiful day, so we were ready to just keep driving!

We stopped at Hobby L, and they didn't have the yarn, so what the heck? We went on to Michaels, who also didn't have it, and it was about then that I had the brilliant idea that we could just drive to Rachel and Ash's apartment and leave her wallet there for her to pick up when they got back from Carthage. That way she would have her drivers license for the drive home to Freeport.

We called Rich from the parking lot of Michael's and he gave us directions to get to the apartment from where we were, since I have been there three times, but I had no idea where it was. I'm retarded that way.

At some point I got a call from Rachel, saying that they had their marriage license. I told her to let Ash be in charge of it so it doesn't get lost before next Saturday!

I had the address of a new yarn store in Rockford, so we looked for that, since we were in the area, and we found it! It's a lovely place called Unique Yarns. Very big and bright, with lots of yarn, books, magazines, and not enough sock yarn, but I managed to find some and bought enough for two pair of socks. Both were yarns I haven't used before - one is Tofutsies, and the other is umm, yeah, I'll have to look at it tomorrow to get the name, but it's handpainted in bright yellow and pink!

Back on the road again, we found the apartment, and the landlord, who lives downstairs, was outside spraying the weeds in the yard with a hose and unfortunately, he wasn't wearing a shirt. It wasn't a pretty sight, in fact I was afraid to look directly at him because I didn't want to burn out my retinas, but I couldn't avoid a glimpse of the D-cups of death. I think he is a delightful human being, but he needs to wear a shirt at all times. Even in the shower.

I left Rachel's wallet in the apartment, and called her cell phone to tell her where it was, and then we went to the good Mexican restaurant two blocks away and had dinner. I love that place!

We got home at about 8 p.m., and decided to take care of the library books and the Fair papers on Friday, so when I wake up in the morning, we're going to hit the road again!


2:19 a.m. - 2007-08-03
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter