monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rachel kept petting the rabbits with her hot, sweaty hands.

OMG, is this terrible weather just going to go on and on until finally it kills me? Me and all the poor, hot, panting rabbits at the county fair? It was 90 today, and the humidity? It was high, very high.

I went to the laundry room this morning to get some clean clothes, and I ran my hand casually along the wall on the way down the stairs to the basement, and my hand slid down the wall because of the moisture in the air! That's how bad it is here!

So of course, the last two miserable days have been the days when I chose to do strenuous activities to maximize my suffering. Yesterday Rachel wanted me to pick up her last check from the hospital, and I thought it would be a lovely day for a walk, so I put on my sandals and walked to the hospital, about a half mile away.

Inside my house it was cool and not unpleasant at all, so imagine my surprise when I walked that first block in the hot sun! It was so humid that the air was thick, and after two blocks I felt like I was moving in slow motion! It was like wading through quicksand!

As I walked up the small incline to the doors of the ER, I thought to myself that it was lucky we have a helipad on the roof of the hospital, so I could be airlifted out to a trauma center! I went up to the desk where Marilyn was working, and she was horrified that I'd walked all that way, and said that my face was really flushed! I could feel that it was, but I just shrugged it off, because you know me, I do not complain. Much.

I stayed and talked to Marilyn and another admitting clerk for a while while I cooled down. They wanted to know how the wedding went, because they know Rachel, so I told them it was beautiful, but hotter than Hell or Arizona. When I left, Marilyn said if I didn't call in a reasonable length of time to tell her I was home safely, she was going to send an ambulance to pick me up! The way home was better - there was cloud cover and a breeze! Wow, it was almost decent, until the sun came out again in the last block.

Back at home, I called Rachel to tell her I had the check, and then she asked me to bring this, that and the other thing that she wanted from her bedroom and from the basement, so I went all over the house, gathering her stuff, including a solid chest of drawers and loaded them into the van. When I got all of that done, I sat in the living room with the window a/c unit running and read a book until Rich got home. The drive to Rockford with cold air blowing on me was pretty pleasant, I tell you what!

Today was the day Rachel wanted to go to the county fair, so I called her when I woke up, and she sounded like she was in no hurry to leave her apartment, so when RA called and suggested that we go to the fair and get some cheese curds (!), I said that I didn't know what time Rachel would be coming over, and RA suggested that she could go over to the fair, buy some lunch for us, and bring it to my house!

RA showed up a while later looking very overheated, but bearing pork chop sandwiches, cheese curds, and lemonade! It was a feast of fair food! Rachel and Ash had arrived at my house shortly before that, so they went to do their errands while we ate.

RA went off to make keys and pack for a trip to visit her daughter, and the rest of us went to the fair. In the heat.

It was so hot! We walked around, and looked at things in the barns - the 4H displays, the photo competition, and then the animals. We are only interested in rabbits, chickens, and sheep, because cows and pigs smell, so we walked through just the barns of animals we like. The rabbits were the first ones we saw, and it was so hot where they were! They were just laying on their sides, panting and praying for death. The chickens and sheep had big barn fans blowing on them, but maybe rabbits can't tolerate a lot of wind? I don't know, but it's not much fun looking at poor little hot rabbits wearing fur coats!

When we got back to my house, Rachel and Ash left, and I went upstairs, took a shower, and went to bed. I woke up later to thunder and lightening! It's been raining all evening, and I just checked the weather website - it's supposed to rain for the next three days. I'm looking forward to Autumn.

11:20 p.m. - 2007-08-22
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter