monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

WWCD?

Ugh, it's a beautiful sunny day with a breeze, but I ruined it for myself by going over to mind RA's garden while she's out of town. The misquitos were all over me, the hot sun was shining on me, and her terrifying cucumbers were, well, scary.

I don't know what kind of cucumbers those are, and neither does she, but she hasn't been picking them because they are freakily long and curly, so when I saw them today they had gotten huge and turned yellow! I picked them, just to stop the madness, and left them there on the ground to die and turn into compost. It's cucumber euthanasia!

She planted zuchini this year because I wanted some, but the thing about zuchini is, you have to check it every day, because one day there is one tiny little zuke, and then you miss a day and it maybe rains, and when you check again, there are six zuchinis and they're the size of baseball bats! So I got two huge ones, one medium, and one which is the perfect size for cooking.

Farther into the garden is a big tomato plant and I bravely fought my way through vines and mulching grass clippings to pick a couple of tomatoes, but ick! I was standing in mulchy stuff, and misquitos were buzzing me, and it was hot, and I had had enough, so I took my tomatoes and left. A misquito followed me into the car, but I killed him. Hah!

So I'm back from my yearly excursion into nature - I check her garden once when she goes out of town every summer, and that's all the outdoors I can stand. I have allergies! Also, bugs! Eek!

In my new quest to be more like my daughter-in-law Carolyn, who is cheap as old chips very thrifty, I have decided to stop going to the grocery store every day (it's helpful that my shopping-enabler, RA, is out of town) and instead, cook some of the food that I already have. I keep going to the farmer's market and buying vegetables that I don't really use, and going to the grocery store and buying food that I don't cook, so with RA gone for two weeks, and a refridgerator full of food, I decided to not go shopping for a week.

So far it's gone well, and I've been cooking things and eating vegetables! Yes, it's rare and wonderful. I haven't gone out to lunch since RA left, and while it's only been three days, I'm feeling pretty proud of myself for being so frugal.

I told Carolyn that my goal was to be more like her, that is, not spending money when I don't need to, instead of running around like I normally do, throwing handfuls of cash to the winds! So, for instance, instead of sitting in front of the computer, looking at sock yarn on eBay, or going to yarn-selling websites "just to look" at the yarn, I'm avoiding looking at the yarn p@rn altogether. I have yarn! Lots of yarn! I can take a few weeks off from yarn shopping, knit only from my yarn stash, and never make a dent in it! So my motto, when I'm tempted to purchase anything unnecessary, i.e. yarn, CDs, or more frozen pizzas, is WWCD, or What Would Carolyn Do?

Here is the Knitting Report:

1. Working on the Leaf sweater for Carolyn (using stash yarn, of course!) It's a top-down raglan, my favorite kind of sweater, and I'm almost done with the body.

2. Last night while watching a two-hour block of television (Monk and Psych), I picked up the long forgotten Dale sweater - so long forgotten that I can't think of the name of it - that I started for somebody, and I don't even remember who it was meant for. Kim? I'm not sure. Anyway, I did a few rows of the colorwork! Yay!

3. I started a baby blanket while we were in Nauvoo, and that's in a basket next to my bed, where I can work on it while I'm reading in bed. It's made of cotton, in stripes of mint green, pale yellow, cream and a light mauve. Easy, mindless knitting.

4. Purse knitting - plain pair of 3X1 ribbed socks from Socks That Rock lightweight sock yarn in the color called Philosophers Stone. You know I had to buy that!

Well, I'm getting hungry, so I'm going to go look in the fridge and find something to eat for lunch!

2:55 p.m. - 2007-08-25
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter