monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wait, I'm looking at pictures of Uranus!

Rich was home all day, and spent most of it laying on the couch in the living room, watching the Discovery channel. It looked like all the shows were about space, including black holes and the Hubble telescope sending back pictures of Uranus. You can imagine the jokes he was making...

So when I woke up this afternoon, Rich was in reclining position on the couch with his dog on the floor beside him, and it was a depressing sight. It looked like a long boring afternoon ahead!

Kim was online so I talked to her for a while, and then Billy No-mates came on to whine about his misery, waaah, waaah, and then the phone rang! It was the sister missionaries, calling to see if we were still expecting them for dinner!

I had forgotten about it, but yesterday when I was at church, I signed up on their dinner calendar! I quickly made a plan - just hamburgers and potato salad, but also, Jello Cake! I made a list and then Rich actually got up off of the couch and went to the store with me.

So we shopped, we cooked - and when I say We, I mean mostly Me, but Rich cleared the dining room table of all the stuff we've been piling there so we could eat off of the table instead of in the living room like savages.

Rich couldn't understand why I wanted to make a cake, given the time we had to do it in, but in spite of his pessimism, the cake was done and beautiful. I cooled it in the freezer, and then he made the Jello to pour over it while I cooked the hamburgers, and then it went back into the freezer to set the Jello. The Cool Whip was thawing on the counter during all the cooking, so it was ready when the cake was. I don't know why he was so sure it couldn't be done - sheesh, if Rachael Ray can make a whole meal in 30 minutes, I really think I can manage it in 2 hours, including time to play Free Cell and IM with Billy N-M!

What I'm knitting today:

While we were talking with the Sisters, I picked up Carolyn's Leaf sweater and worked on the last little bit of the neckline edging. It's almost done! I just need to lightly sew all the facings down and then block it. I think I'll block it with the steam iron, just to make sure the neckline edging lays flat.

Still working on baby sweater number 2, in Forest Green Woolease. I've got some light Sage to do some stripes with, just across the chest and upper arms.

The only sock knitting I have right now is the sock in my purse, and I'm down to the toe shaping. It's the Socks That Rock yarn in the color called Philosophers Stone. I was excited about the yarn when I got it, and I still like the yarn itself, but the colors, not so much. It's okay, it's just a sock to carry around for when I need something in my hands.

Still have a couple of sweaters at home that are finished, but need to be put together. I'm putting that off as long as I can, and then one day I will suddenly get the urge to Finish Things! and I will get them done!

11:44 p.m. - 2007-09-03
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter