monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which we ate and went shopping in the barrio.

What was I talking about yesterday? Oh right, knitting. Well today's knitting report is just that I tore something out and started over with a different pattern. A pattern that is knit in one piece from the top down, to eliminate any sewing together of pieces when the knitting is done. Also, I worked on a sock in the car while we drove to Rockford.

So I slept all morning and then went to the grocery store with RA, just to keep her company, but then I bought more than she did, like I always do. Because I always need three basic necessities; Milk, Bread, and Pop. Whenever I make a shopping list, those things are on it, but I should probably just start including cat litter every time, too, for the excessively peeing cats.

Then I went back home and talked to Kim on the phone whilst playing Animal Crossing. I have a cunning plan to do with Animal Crossing, but I can't talk about it here. Yet.

Rich and I were at Rachel's house yesterday, and I forgot to get my car keys back from her! She was driving my car when we went out in search of the apple orchard on Saturday, and she was wearing Someone's fleece jacket, which had pockets, so when we got out of the car at home, she dropped the car keys into her pocket and wore the jacket home.

We went back tonight to go out to dinner, and I remembered to get my keys. We went to the Mexican restaurant a couple of blocks from her place, and then she said she needed to go to the grocery store to get something to cook in the crockpot so she'd have a hot dinner when she gets home from work tomorrow.

Rachel thought she knew the way to the grocery store, but she was wrong and we drove and drove around the downtown area, trying to find someplace to turn around. Good thing it was Rachel getting us lost, and not me, because Rich was being pretty good-natured about it. He isn't really mad when I get us lost, either, but he gives me a lot more crap about it. And makes up little songs.

Finally we found the grocery store, very close to where Rachel lives, and we both know how to find it again. It wasn't a mercado, but it leaned heavily toward ethnic food and clientele. I love trying new things, so we bought some prickly pear cactus fruit, after I quizzed a woman nearby about how to eat it. She says you just peel it, and that the red ones are sweeter than the green ones. Her friend said (in Spanish) that the green ones are also sweet, so we bought one of each. They are called Tunas in Spanish.

So we dropped Rachel back at her place with a bag of vegetables and some beef to make a roast in the crockpot tomorrow. She's coming to our house on Wednesday to do laundry and study.

I napped for an hour, and I'm back at work. I brought knitting, and I've got something to read. I love this job.

2:04 a.m. - 2007-09-18
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter