monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm sick, but I have apple crisp!

I have tonight off, and I'm spending it having a miserable cold, so that's not making me happy one bit. You know what is making me happy? First of all, the bowl of apple crisp that I just ate was wonderful, and I didn't have to make it myself! My neighbor brought it over just because she felt like making some! I love her! This is not the first time she has brought spontaneous food over, and I think I need to make some bread for her. As soon as the weather gets cooler, which I hope will be next week.

Another thing that is making me happy, well, making me laugh, anyway, is that there is a small LDS college in Virginia that Kim had applied to last year because one of her friends was going there, and then Kim decided against it because it is so small and doesn't offer enough classes in things she is interested in, but now that college is trying to recruit Kim to play golf for them. Haha, if only her high school golf coach knew about this! Kim was not the best player on that team, far from it, but this college wants to build a team, so they have emailed and called, to talk to her about transferring there. Which is not going to happen, but awww, it's sweet. So maybe that is not so much happiness as pure, gratifying entertainment, but it makes me smile, either way.

The third happy thing is that Kim is the worst packer in the world, who called me after she had been at college for a couple of weeks because she needed bras, and when I went to her room to see which ones she had left behind, it appeared to be all of them because she had at least six in her underwear drawer, and I don't know what she was wearing! Now she is realizing that she needs more shoes, having only taken her Docs and a pair of flip flops, so I mailed her running shoes, and then I went online to look for a pair of red Docs, because she has a new-ish black pair, but her old reddish brown pair are pretty worn. I looked on ebay, and there weren't any red ones but I found a Raspberry pair in her size, and the same seller had two cute pair of maryjanes, too, and if you bought the black Born pair, you got the burgundy suede pair free! So Kim is getting three pair of shoes, and I am pretty happy about how little I paid for them! Woot!

*****

When we went to Planet Crazy for Gma's birthday, I was trying to think of Grandma-isms on the way there in the car. Like "All men with long hair are queer!" or "I'm going to tear off your leg and beat you over the head with the bloody end of it!" and also, "There is nothing uglier than the naked human body!"

The other day I remembered this one: "You never fly so high that you don't land in a cowpie sometime!" which RA thought was pretty darn funny, and so true, and then today I thought of this - "He doesn't know whether to shit or go blind!" which is probably the 1938 equivalent of "She don't know who her baby daddy is!" that Rachel and her friends used to say.

I'm going back to bed now. I hope this cold is gone tomorrow!

12:35 a.m. - 2007-09-21
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter