monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm not even going to think about sewing up the Telemark sweater!

Remember all the socks I was going to finish on the trip to Utah? I finished all of them, so I had to buy more sock yarn while we were there so I'd have something to knit on the way home.

I met Carolyn's friend Heather, who is a knitter, and she showed me her current projects, one of which is a pair of socks with beautiful short-row heels and toes. I've tried short-row heels before and they looked like crap, but hers looked so good, I decided to try them on the socks I was making on the trip home.

I had a toe-up sock pattern, called Ambrosia Socks, that I printed from the Knitting Daily website, so I cast on and did the toe and then knitted all day and got to the heel just as it was getting too dark to see what I was doing.

When we got to the motel (Motel 6 - cheap, clean, and they give your dog a biscuit when you check in), Rich went to sleep right away, Buffy passed out on the floor, and I sat up in bed and knitted the short-row heel. Which looked like crap. Darn. I unravelled the sock and went to sleep.

In the morning, I started over with that yarn and knitted my regular cuff-down pattern all the way home. I finished the leg and turned the heel before we got to our house. I just looked in my purse and found the skein wrapper - the name of the sock yarn is Ditto. It's a superwash wool, in purples and blues.

At the yarn store in Provo, I also bought some yarn that was on sale, even though there were only 5 skeins, because I liked the color and the feel of it. It's a pale blue wool called Rowanspun DK. I bought some sale wool for Kim to knit another scarf, because it's making her happy, and I think it's so cute that she is carrying knitting around in her messenger bag! She picked a bright thick-and-thin yarn in shades of pink, and I bought her some size 10 bamboo circular needles to use with it.

Speaking of Kim's messenger bag, that kid is walking around campus loaded down like a pack animal! When we picked her up after class, she had her messenger bag across her chest, her (full) backpack on her back, and her scripture bag hanging off of her arm. I suggested that she didn't need to carry all her books to class, but she seems to think she needs them! Don't bother suggesting one of those luggage pulling thingies, because there is nothing less cool in this world, so she prefers to resemble a pack mule, because that is so much more attractive.

While we were visiting, Carolyn mentioned that her old favorite sweater was a plain blue cardigan with long sleeves, so I started one for her last night, because I don't have enough unfinished projects! I'm using some dark blue-green Encore and using a top-down raglan pattern from a pattern book I've had forever.

Today I was looking at the Fall issue of Interweave Knits and found a sweater pattern that some of the knitbloggers have been mentioning - the Tangled Yoke Cardigan. I think the Rowanspun DK would work for that, but I needed a couple more skeins, so I looked around on the internet, and found a store that had a few skeins left - it's a discontinued color!

So I'm working on the top-down raglan tonight at work, and I'll start the Tangled Yoke Cardi when this one is done. Or maybe sooner. Maybe as soon as the rest of the yarn arrives...

I think I'd better do some finishing this week, so I can empty a couple of knitting baskets. Then I won't have guilt about starting more projects.

What I have to finish:


  • Sew the buttons on two baby sweaters.
  • Sew the zipper into another baby sweater.
  • Sew together the pieces of Rachel's Ivy sweater.

That's not a long list, I can force myself to do that much finishing.

2:32 a.m. - 2007-10-15
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter