monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Another holiday down.

My next door neighbor estimates that we had 150 trick-or-treaters tonight, and I think she's probably right. Carloads of kids were unloading on our street, and groups of 5-6 kids would be at the door together. We took pictures of all the cute babies in costumes to send to Diana.

Rachel and Ash dressed up in costumes to pass out treats, but I had to keep running to the door to see who was cute. At some point we tried to get Buffy to come to the door to show her to some kids, and that lazy hound would hardly get off of the rug! We even gave the little girl a biscuit to hold and Buffy acted like she'd gone blind - I had to hold her head and push her nose over to the little girl's hand to get the biscuit.

In the midst of the Halloweening, I was making lasagna, and trying to be clever about it by putting in the noodles uncooked, and baking it with a tight foil cover to cook the noodles in the pan, but dang! The noodles were very uncooperative! We finally did get to eat it, but the noodles were chewy in places.

You know the finishing of knitted objects that I keep talking about? It's a like fantasy that will never come true. I had big plans for today, but the house was too messy and it was making me edgy, so I went to my room, folded two baskets of laundry, and then lay on my bed and read a book instead.

Tomorrow (or Friday) there will be cleaning, and then I'll feel better about life and can maybe get something done. Really.

I did kitchener the toes of two socks tonight. They aren't a matched pair of socks, but hey, two socks, done! Then I pulled another sock out of my work bag, and I'm going to knit that tonight while I read.

I'm reading Once Upon Stilettos by Shanna Swendson, the sequel to Enchanted, Inc. I started the third book and I thought it wouldn't matter if I read it out of order, but there were a lot of references in the third book to events in the second, so I am reading the second now, and will start the third book over. I hadn't gotten very far in it.

So here I am at work, with some knitting and a book to read, and it's all good, because it's cleaner than my house, where the cat hair on the carpets is so thick you could probably harvest it and spin it into cat-wool.

11:53 p.m. - 2007-10-31
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter