monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I am knitting with string on toothpicks. Again.

I had the weekend off, starting with Thursday night. Ash was out of town so Rachel came and slept at our house, and I went with her to class on Friday morning.

I used to go with her to class every Friday, and while she attended class I would clean out her car, because she spent so much time driving that she practically lived in the car, so it was always full of fast food bags, wrappers and cups, and plastic juice bottles, and piles of clothes thrown on the back seat with books and papers and shoes.

So every Friday I cleaned out the car, threw away the trash, folded the clothes and tidied the books and papers, then I would get a cold Diet Pepsi from the machine in the Nursing building, and sit in the car and read until class was over. Then we would get lunch before we went back home.

It was kind of fun to do it again. I cleaned out the car, threw out the trash, folded the clothes and then drank a pop and read my book until she got out of class. Very pleasant.

We had lunch at a place where you can get a slice of pizza as big as your head for $4.00, and then we went to the yarn store.

I was looking for yarn to make the Baby Norgi sweater from Knitty.com. The pattern calls for Baby Ull, which is a machine-washable, fingering-weight wool. They didn't have it at the yarn shop we went to, so I bought something I thought would be a good substitute.

There was a young girl working in the shop, and we sat at the table with her to look at magazines and admire her knitting. I can't remember what she was making, but she showed us the socks she was wearing, the first pair of socks she had ever made, and they were knitted with wool she dyed herself...with walnuts! She said she dyes with a lot of natural dyes and she got so carried away dyeing that she sells her yarn on etsy now. (She also dyes with chemical dyes.) She gave us the URL for her website and I ordered some yarn when I got home!

When we left the shop, we went back to Rachel's apartment, where I took a nap while she played Paper Mario on the Wii. Then we cleaned a little and went shopping for something to make for supper. Of course she roasted vegetables again, but she also sliced some beef thin, and marinated it in soy sauce and garlic, and served it, sauteed, over rice.

Rich picked me up when he was done at the stake center, and we got home about 10.

I can't remember much of anything about Saturday, except it was a bit boring. Rachel was off with her friends, shooting their movie, Rich was working all afternoon in the office, and I was knitting a swatch for the Baby Norgi sweater, and discovering that the yarn I bought for it was a little too heavy. I couldn't get the gauge.

I thought about it while I folded some clean laundry, and had the brilliant idea of trying sock yarn! I had some of the white Kroy yarn I used to make nursing socks for Rachel, so I got that out and it was working beautifully!

I sat in bed and propped a book on my lap, and read for the next three hours, and knitted a whole inch on that sweater! Because OMG, it's on size 0 needles! I am in love with it, though, so I kept working on it until about midnight.

Today I needed to find the contrasting colors to do the design, so I scrounged through the sock yarn box, and came up with some varigated Kroy in shades of blue and green, and I'm using that. It's great! I love this, except that the first 3 inches are on those size 0 needles and they were making a hole in my forefinger!

Rachel and Ash came over late in the afternoon and Ash played Super Mario 64 while I knitted and Rachel read a book for the nurses book club, and then she got out her knitting and I was still slaving over mine until they left at 10. I finished the color work at the bottom of the sweater and then, yay! When I came to work, it was time to switch up to a bigger size! I'm knitting with size 1 needles now! This may take a while.

I have to tell you about the book I was reading on Friday and Saturday. It's a book of essays called Bright Lights, Big Ass, and it is so funny! I was laughing out loud! I mean not just the occasional chuckle or snort, but really laughing! Diana told me it was funny, and she was right! She said the first book, Bitter is the New Black, was good, too, so I'll have to get that now.

Okay, gotta go knit my tiny sweater on tiny needles now!

2:06 a.m. - 2007-11-12
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter