monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Also, my house is dirty and I have no one to clean it.

Why I hate my life today:

So you know I have a mental block or something about paying my water bill? A block that results in the occasional turning off of water service for a couple of hours until I wake up and find that I don't have water again, until either I or my representative (last time it was Olga) goes in and pays the bill? Well first Rich made up a little song about it, and then when he had tortured me by singing it every time the water bill appeared in the mail, he finally asked if I would like him to just be in charge of paying the water bill when it arrives, and I said, "Yes, I wish you would," to which he replied that would be fine, and he wandered off, whistling his annoying Water Bill Song.

Fast forward a month or two, and the shut-off notice from the water company has arrived, and I left it on the counter in the kitchen so Rich could see it and take care of it, like he said he would, and two days later, he says, in a pissy way, "Do you want me to pay this on my way to work in the morning?" and I said, Yes. Then he started fussing about it, about how if I keep ignoring the water bill we will get our water shut off again, and I said well they pissed me off that time and now I have a hard time giving them any money at all, and he yells at me that if I don't pay the bill, we will get our water shut off!

So I can't figure out why he is making a big fuss about it, but if he isn't going to pay it on the way to work, I will drop it off in the box at the water company tonight on my way to work. But no, he insists that he will do it, and he grabbed the bill and put it in his work bag, so I said, "Fine, pay it then," and walked away.

After he went upstairs, I went up and reminded him that he said he was going to pay that bill now, and I don't see why he's getting mad at me if he didn't pay it, and then when I came to work tonight, I took the bill out of his bag, and dropped the payment in the drop box downtown, so I guess I showed him.

So here I am at work, and I feel very grouchy (I wonder why?), but also clever because I made a thing to hold my book open so I can read paperbacks while I knit. Paperbacks don't stay open as well as hardcover books do, and I can tame a hardcover book easily by laying the phone receiver on the page, but paperbacks resist the receiver treatment because it is too light, so the pages push it out of the way and close themselves.

Today I bought some felt and cut out two pieces of a kind of bowtie shape, sewed them together and filled it with rice, and I believe it will work beautifully, but I haven't tried it yet because I am typing this.

What I'm reading today:

The book I'm reading (in paperback) is The Golden Compass, and it's really good! I love the whole world that the author created, and I can hardly put it down, except that I like to knit and read, but it's a paperback and it's kind of difficult to do both until I made my brilliant invention, which I am calling the Page Tamer, unless I think of something cleverer.

What I'm watching today:

We went to see the Bee Movie tonight, and it was pretty flat. Really, it just wasn't funny, no matter how much I wanted it to be. Oh well, we had free passes, so we got our monies worth out of it, and I had theater nachos for dinner.

What I'm knitting tonight:

The Baby Norgi sweater is giving me tendonitis from knitting on tiny needles, so I'm taking a break. I started a sock during the movie, but I left it at home, so tonight at work I have a sock in my work bag, which is almost finished, and another sock that is half done - just past the heel shaping - so I will work on those.

11:45 p.m. - 2007-11-19
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter