monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which we were cold in LA.

We're back, and maybe it was the good luck Twinkie, but we didn't die in a flaming ball of metal wreckage. In fact, I was assured by a man in the airport, after I explained to him about the Twinkie, that flying is the safest way to travel. He says he flies at least twice a week and assured me again that it was safe. I told him I wished he was going to be sitting next to me on my flight.

So after my flying friend left, a family sat down next to us, and Rachel whispered to me that she thought the husband's sweater vest looked handknitted. I looked at it and couldn't decide from where I was sitting. I told Rachel to look at the vee-neck and see how it looked, because that is what gives me the hardest time on a project, but she said it looked good. Finally I asked him if someone had knitted that vest for him, and yes, it turned out that his wife was a knitter! Hi Judy! He was wearing handmade socks, too!

So we had lunch and met people in the airport, but I forgot to buy a book to read on the plane. I napped most of the way, and it was a smooth flight. When we got to LA, Ash ate the (squashed) Twinkie while we waited for Sarah to pick us up in the rental car.

We just had time to check in at the hotel when it was time to leave for the dinner party. It was at a Mexican restaurant called Acupulco, and wow! They had great guacamole!

The party was a lot of fun. We told stories about Jenna and Steve, and that gave us a chance to know them a little better, as well as get to know their friends and family who talked about them. The people I was sitting with kept telling me to tell this or that story about Jenna, so I stood up and spoke, and the annoying photographer was taking pictures the whole time, on my bad side, of course. I told about shopping for socks, the Dorothy dress, the time she tried to make her boyfriend pee blue, and TP-ing. A couple of other people talked about what a sweet girl she is, and I'm not saying they're wrong, I just wanted to add some balance to that picture!

We went to bed as soon as we got back to the hotel, but I woke up really early, like 3 in the morning, and I had nothing to read! I didn't want to disturb anyone, so I just lay in bed, occasionally making a whining noise, until Rachel woke up, and she told me it wouldn't bother them if I turned on the TV! Yay! So I watched the news and knitted in bed until Sarah messaged me to see if I was up yet. I sure was!

Sarah and Chris wanted to go out for coffee and to see the ocean, so we got up and dressed and went with them. It was beautiful out on the pier at 7:30 in the morning! There were people sitting out in front of cafes and S*bucks with their dogs, and other people walking by with dogs, and they all seemed to know each other and stopped to talk. Chris flirted with everyone's dogs!

The ocean was full of surfy waves, and there were surfers! It was so cool, and now I want to visit Chris and Sarah so I can see the ocean on their side of the country. Also, I think Rich would like surfing, and I would like to watch!

After breakfast in the hotel, Chris and Rachel went for a run, and Sarah and Inger and I stayed in Sarah's room to give ourselves pedicures. My toenails are still pretty! Kate went to a salon to meet up with Jenna and the other bridesmaids, and get a hairdo.

The sealing ceremony in the LA temple was very sweet, but then we had to wait outside forever in the cold! Yes, it was cold and windy, and we were not wearing parkas, but we wished we were! When Jenna finally appeared, oh my goodness, we were freezing! Then it was pictures, pictures, pictures and we had to huddle together like sled dogs for warmth!

We had a couple of hours to kill after the arctic photoshoot, so we went to find a restaurant that Ash wanted to go to. That rice bowl place was next to a sushi place, that was next to a sports bar, so there was something for everyone. Sarah and I went to the sushi place and ordered many plates of sushi, and when Inger and Kate got there, they ordered more! Then Rachel and Ash came back from the rice bowl place, and Chris and Keith came back from the sports bar, and we all ate sushi. It was so good!

We were still cold from standing outside in the wind earlier, and we never really warmed up in the restaurant. We went to the church for the reception, and it was cold there, too! The cultural hall was decorated very nicely, and there was gorgeous food. What made it cold was that they were having it catered by In and Out Burger, and there was a trailer pulled up behind the church, with a door open at the end of the hallway leading out to the trailer, so we could line up in the hall to get burgers, and it was pretty chilly back in the hallway!

There was a nice ring ceremony, and then dancing with a DJ. Oh, and Chris had to do his regular job - finding us some Diet Pepsi! The In and Out Burger trailer was supposed to be dispensing soda, but the generator that ran the pop machine wasn't working so there was no Pepsi! Chris to the rescue! He went out to the store and came back with a 2-liter bottle, so whew! Crisis averted!

When we got back to the hotel, we were all so tired we went right to bed, but I woke up at about 3:30 in the morning. I turned on the TV, and then quietly got dressed and packed, so that I could stay out of the way when Rachel and Ash got up. They had to get up at 4:30, and we were all ready to leave at 5, to get back to the airport for our flights home at 7. Inger had to leave even earlier than we did!

We had breakfast in the airport, and I bought a pile of books in the bookstore, so I wouldn't be stuck with nothing to read on the plane again. The flight home was fine, with me reading and Rachel playing a Mario game on the DS. I think Ash was just listening to music on his headphones.

Our luggage didn't arrive in the airport when we did, which was irritating, but not fatal. We left our address and phone number and we were told that they'd send our luggage to the house within 24 hours. 2 days later it hasn't arrived, but it appears to be on a Fed Ex truck now, and we hope to see it tomorrow.

So that was our trip to Jenna's wedding. In other news, Kim has been sick and had to miss classes. She went to the doctor today, who told her that something is going around, and he gave her two shots and some pills. She doesn't know what the shots were, but the pills sound like an antibiotic. She says she feels weak and tired but tomorrow is her long day - five classes! - so she's going to try to go to a couple of them. Poor sick baby.

Scott got his first acceptance letter from one of the law schools he applied to, and a great financial aid package, so he is feeling pretty good about that. Still no baby, and at this point it would be good to wait another week so he will be done with classes and papers before the baby is born.

11:15 p.m. - 2007-12-04
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter