monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Which will get here first? Our luggage or the new baby?

It's 6, but I have been up since 5:30. I didn't want to bother Rich, so I came downstairs to read my email and make toast.

Yesterday I was driving Rachel around all day because she strained a muscle in her back, and driving was too painful for her. I made a bed for her in the back of the van, but even though it was comfortable, she felt silly laying back there by herself, so she eventually got up and sat in the passenger seat.

I drove her the hour and a half to Dekalb so she could go to her last class of nursing school, but on the way there, she decided she needed to see a doctor at the Student Health Services, so she called them on her cell phone and made an appointment.

There was a lot of morning traffic, plus construction, so it took longer than usual to get down there, but we got there. I dropped Rachel off and found a place to park. I knew I would be waiting for her during class, so I had a book, some knitting, and a newspaper, and I just sat and read until she called me to pick her up.

The doctor gave her two prescriptions for pain meds, and advice on icing the injury. By then she had missed half of her class, so she decided to skip the rest of it, but she still needed to go to the police station for fingerprints, which all nurses have to have on file. We passed the yarn store on the way to the police station, so we stopped in and bought yarn, of course. It's probably going to be our last trip to that yarn store for quite a while, since she won't be going there for classes anymore.

Then the police station, where I parked and waited in the car, and Rachel went in and got fingerprinted. That process has changed since I had to be fingerprinted back in the 70s. They don't use that smeary black ink anymore! They just got her fingertips wet and rolled them on glass and photographed them!

After the fingerprints, she had to go to the nursing school to drop off a copy of her receipt (because she had to pay to be fingerprinted! I told her to just throw a brick through someone's window and she could get fingerprinted for free!) to prove she had it done, so we drove back out to the nursing building. That was the last thing we had to do, and we went to Burger King on our way out of town to grab some lunch.

We did make one more stop, at The Sheep Shop, to buy a fleece blanket for Scott's new baby to lay on. (Don't get excited, there's no baby yet, we're still waiting). The Sheep Shop is a place where they do not have yarn, only sheep products, like soft suede Ugg boots (very cute) and sheepskin slippers and sheep fleece mats to lay your baby on. The crazy sheep fanatic who owns the shop says that babies who lay on the fleece mat sleep better, gain weight better and feel at home like they're in the womb, and I asked if our wombs are fleece inside, because what does that mean? But she just laughed like she had to humor me.
We bought the blanket, some special shampoo for washing fleece, and another jar of the sheep cream that I like to use on my hands.

Then we drove and drove, and finally got home. We were hoping to see the luggage from our trip to LA sitting on the porch, but no, we still haven't gotten it. Rachel took a turn at calling FedEx today, because I am sick of calling people and being lied to, and she spent at least half an hour on hold, only to find out that our luggage is in Indianapolis now. We don't know why. Now they say we will be getting it Monday. I'll believe it when I see it.

I was so tired, so I went to bed at 8 and that's why I am up so early. Rich's parents are driving down here from Michigan today so they can be here for Rachel's graduation tomorrow, so I'm going to do a little cleaning before they get here. Maybe I will shovel some snow, too, so we can get from our house to the car without a dog sled.

6:15 a.m. - 2007-12-08
4 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter