monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Newsflash! The weather outside is still frightful.

It's been snowing here all day, and tonight the heavy, wet snow changed to ice when the temperature dropped, so I had to scrape ice off of the car to come to work. Ugh.

Rich and I went to Rockford to take an old computer to Rachel - she wants to give it to a friend who needs one - and we took Buffy with us. The snow had been going on all day, and the highway was a little slippery, but not too bad.

Rachel wanted to go to the yarn store, so we left Rich and Buffy there watching TV and we drove the snowy roads to the yarn store. It's a big bright store full of gorgeous yarns, and we got a little light-headed and bought a lot of yarn! Rachel wants to knit a purse from a pattern in the Charmed Knits book, but she didn't have the pattern with her, so we called Karin in Idaho to ask her what colors of yarn we needed for the purse. Karin patiently read the numbers over and over for us, because we were so giddy we couldn't pay attention, and kept forgetting the numbers as we looked through the skeins, checking the labels to find the right colors! Rich asked me later why we didn't just write them down, but we didn't even think of that!

We left the store clutching two bags containing yarn, a pattern for Christmas stockings and a mystery book with knitting in it!

It was still snowing big wet flakes as we drove back to Rachel's place, and we were trying to find a Taco Bell so we could take dinner back to the men (and dog), and it was so snowy! We saw a McDonalds or two, but no Taco Bell, and finally we realized that it was because she lives in the barrio and there is a taqueria on every corner! Just then we saw the good taqueria that we always go to, and it has a drive-thru, so we got a bag of tortes (sandwiches) and tacos to take home!

After dinner Rich and I took our dog and headed for home, and it took longer than usual to get there, driving through the bad weather! By the time we got home, I was ready to nap, and when I woke up, Rich was outside, shoveling the sidewalks. Buffy was laying sadly by the back door, because Rich doesn't think she is very helpful with the shoveling, so he makes her stay inside.

We've been watching Tin Man for two nights. It was on TV a week or so ago, and we don't have the Sci-Fi channel, so Rich's parents taped it and brought the tape for us when they were here last week. It's pretty good, and I've gotten a lot of finishing work done while we watch it.

We sat down for another hour of the show tonight before I came to work, and I wove in the ends on the little Rocket sweater. Last night we watched it for a couple of hours, and I sewed Rachel's Ivy sweater together! That thing has been sitting in a basket for weeks! I just need to have her try it on so I can put the wrap ties in the right place and then she can wear it!

Other things I've finished this week - the beautiful mittens for Rich to replace the pair he lost, and I just finished the fingerless mitts I'm making for a swap with Catsoul! They are hot off the needles tonight, and just needs the ends woven in!

I'm knitting on the Baby Norgi sweater at work now, and I've got my new mystery book to read! It's nice to be comfortable indoors while it's snowy and icy outside!

1:30 a.m. - 2007-12-16
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter