monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The two most common elements are stupidity and hydrogen.

We got Kim home from the airport, after we drove through some very heavy fog to get there, but it was mostly gone by the time we got back home. We stopped at McDonalds for dinner, as she hadn't eaten anything but airplane peanuts all day, and then she slept the rest of the way home.

She has slept a lot since she's been home, probably catching up from being up most of the night before her flight, packing and drawing a Christmas card for Scott and Carolyn.

This morning when she finally dragged out of bed to go to church with us, she was complaining that her ear hurt, and felt full, and when I wiped it out for her, I thought it looked like she'd been bleeding! I tried to call Nurse Rachel for advice, but she and Ash were in Indiana for the weekend, and both of their phones were off!

We decided to go to church, and then leave after sacrament meeting and go to the ER just to have it looked at, because blood! and pain! Eek! Well, during church I thought that if she wasn't in acute pain she could probably wait until Monday and go to the doctor's office, but after the meeting, Rich turned to me and said he thought she should go have it looked at.

I was wavering, so I decided to go ahead and take her to the ER. Kim's kindergarten teacher is retired from teaching and works part-time in ER registration, so it was fun to see her. It wasn't busy in ER so we got right in and saw the doctor who is very friendly, and makes a lot of jokes. He used a big syringe to get the wax out of her ear, but there was so much and it was so packed in that he couldn't get it all, even when he scraped around with a crochet hook! He got enough wax removed to lessen the pressure, but we have to go to an ENT tomorrow to have the rest sucked out! Kim has been complaining of pain all night from the digging around that the ER doc did!

After she took a three-hour nap, Rich and I took her on a drive through town to look at all the Christmas decorations to distract her from the pain. It's been snowing all day, so the snow on the ground was fresh and sparkly and the whole scene was very festive.

When we got home, she took a hot bath and then sat on my bed and played Super Mario World (?) while I napped. I love it when people sit on my bed while I sleep, and no one does it now that all my kids have moved out!

Knitting content:

Kim brought home a blue tunic sweater that I knitted years ago and it's been her favorite sweater. She's worn it to death, and it's held up very well, except for the cuffs. I've reknit the cuff on one side before, and this time she had to have both cuffs mended. I looked around and couldn't find the partial ball of that yarn that I know is somewhere in the yarn room, but I found one last, miraculous, skein in a drawer with some other skeins of similar wools. The yarn is from an odd lot of wool I bought at Blackberry Ridge years ago! I rolled up the skein and reknitted both cuffs - the color is brighter but not shockingly so - and then I labeled the ball of yarn and put it back in the drawer for next time. I've got to wash that sweater for her before she goes back to school!

When I talked to Carolyn on the phone yesterday, I told her about the cuffs I was repairing and she said she liked that sweater a lot, and I kind of remember her mentioning that before, but you only have to tell me a thing 10 times or so before it sticks! I told her (again) that I would make one for her, and tonight I found some yarn for it and started casting on.

The sweater pattern is in a booklet called Tunic Sweater for the Family by Cottage Creations, and it's a fun knit - all in one piece with minimal sewing up - you know I love that! I knit a couple of inches while Kim was in the bath tonight, but I left it home and brought a sock to work with me.

I promised RA two pair of socks for her son, and she's already paid me for them, so I need to finish up this second pair. I gave her the first pair today so she can put them under the tree for him.

I have three sweaters in the works at home, not counting the one I just started today for Carolyn, and a baby blanket that is 2/3 done. I would love to have all of them done by the end of January. I know I can get the knitting part done, but the three sweaters are all Norwegian style, and require cutting and sewing to finish. One of them is all done except for the cutting and sewing! It's been sitting in a pile on my dresser for months! I was kind of vaguely thinking that if I finish the body pieces of the other two, then I could do the cutting and sewing for all three at once. It's a possibility! Okay, that's my goal, finish the three steeked sweaters and the baby blanket by the end of January.

11:40 p.m. - 2007-12-23
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter