monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Finn Fest!

Well, I started my Little Child's Sock, you know, the one I'm making for the Copycat Knitalong, also known as the Sock of the Month Club. I got quite a bit done on it, but then I got distracted by a pair of mittens I want to make for a friend.

Mike from Maintainance is the Gossip King, and he stops in to my office almost every night to fill me in on whatever the latest scoop might be, and just to chat if nothing interesting is going on in the hospital. He has a Finnish last name, and he's interested in all things Finn, so I told him that I have a book of Finnish mitten patterns somewhere in the yarn room, and I'd make some mittens for him.

I can't remember where the mitten pattern book is, but I found a pattern online, at this site , and I started them today. I just noticed that I'm doing the thumb pattern wrong, though, so I'll have to pick out a couple of rows and fix that.

In my last post, I invited everyone to do the knitalong, and five people said they'll knit a pair of socks every month this year! Woot! I think when you all finish a pair, you should send a picture and I'll post them. Oh darn, I was going to take a picture of the one I started, but I forgot. Maybe tomorrow.

Other than the mitten I started, I haven't done anything noteworthy. I did make dinner for the second day in a row, and yesterday I baked bread, too!

RA is back from visiting her daughter in Idaho, so we made a run to the post office today and stopped for a soda. Tomorrow we're going to Rockford to take Rachel her high school diploma, because she found out in nursing orientation today that even though she has two Bachelors degrees, she can't draw blood without a high school diploma.

I've been doing a little research into culinary schools for Kim, and I found one that is close, and also less expensive, so she can try a couple of cooking classes this summer, and see if it's something she still wants to do.

11:11 p.m. - 2008-01-15
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter