monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Soren TV - all Soren, all the time!

It's been so cold here! We have a week like this every Winter, and it's terrible! It was cold all weekend, and I hardly left the house, which was fine because we had already gone grocery shopping.

It was my weekend off, and I stayed in the house and knitted, caught up on sleep, and read library books.

One of the things I was knitting was this mitten:

It's a pattern designed by a Finnish woman, that I made for Mike in Maintainance who is of Finnish descent and proud of it. He was talking about the FinnFest he went to in Minnesota a couple of years ago, and that reminded me of a book of mitten patterns from Finland that a friend gave me a few years ago. I went looking on the internet to find a pattern to show Mike while we were talking, and found this one.

The book of patterns that I have at home shows mittens made of fingering-weight yarns, but this pattern by Tuulia is knitted with worsted-weight yarn at 5 sts to the inch, which is much more do-able! So I made those mittens this weekend and surprised Mike with them last night. He acted pleased with them, which is all I require - a person doesn't have to love everything I make for them, but they should at least pretend to!

Last night before work I had a lovely time, sitting in the den, knitting on Scott's Cobblestone sweater, and watching SorenTV! The kids had the video camera on, and I just sat and watched them hanging out in their living room with Kim and Soren. It was great, and I could watch it for hours. I can't wait to go and visit next week.

Hmmm, I should knit some things to take with me. I have a pair of socks for Scott started, the first one is done and the second one is...started. Same with a pair for Carolyn, but what can I made for Soren? Maybe a Wallaby, those take four days, so yeah, if I start tonight, I can finish the socks, and get a Wallaby done by the time we go out there.

I'd better get started. I wonder if I have time to make a quick pair of gloves for Kim, too? She left a message on my cell phone yesterday to say that she lost one of her beautiful new gloves, and she was mourning its pink goodness. Or I could just buy some at Old N@vy - that's where I bought the pink ones.

12:46 a.m. - 2008-01-23
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter