monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's an adventure, just like taming lions!

I have nothing to write about, really, but after I gave Diana a pep talk about writing in her journal more often for my amusement, I feel like I need to make an effort.

So I'm making an effort, even though my life is so unbelievably dull right now that I can hardly stand it. Last night at work, Mike the Gossip King was sitting in the office with me, and we were mourning how boring we are right now! There is no scandal in the hospital, neither of us has anything to do, and the weather is too nasty to even go outside. He mentioned that at least I have my knitting to do when I'm home in the house all weekend, and I agreed, that yes, I do have my knitting, but it made me feel like an old lady, just sitting and rocking in my chair, watching TV and knitting. Except that I don't have a rocking chair.

I told Mike that we need to have some adventures so we'll have something to talk about, and today when I went out with RA, we looked for adventure! We looked at the Dollar Store (ugh), but there was no adventure there. We went to the grocery store, and when we found the barley, hidden among the offerings in the soup aisle, instead of with the rice and beans and quinoa, well, it was pretty exciting, but not so much an adventure.

I did cook today. I made Beef and Barley (!) Soup in the crockpot this morning and it cooked all day and smelled good, and tonight it was really tasty.

I also knitted. I finished the Baby Norgi sweater, and it looks darling but was a huge pain in the ass to put together. Then I started working on the Telemark sweater.

The Telemark sweater is sucking the life out of me so far. I have put the shoulders together twice, picking them back out carefully, and now I'm happy with the way they look. The directions, which are long and ponderous, include crocheting the steeks, but I chose not to do that. I just sewed them in and then cut them open. After the cutting, I first knitted the shoulders together using the Three Needle I-cord Bind-off, as advised in the instructions. It looked like crap, with a big puffy raised ridge along the shoulders. I took a nap, and woke up still hating it, so I pulled it out, picked up the stitches and did an ordinary Three Needle Bind-off, but I didn't like the way it looked on the back of the (smaller) ridge, and I pulled that out and re-knit the last row of each piece in the contrast color and then did the Three Needle Bind-off again, with the contrast color, and it looks good.

So the shoulder seam looks good but I am now thinking that I want to do the same kind of contrast-color bind-off for the sleeve tops, and that means a little more ripping, and picking up stitches, and ugh. I left it at home tonight, and brought some nice mindless scarf knitting to work with me.

I'm making a scarf for Carolyn and Scott's friend Monique, who was at their house and admired the knitting that Carolyn and Soren were wearing, and doesn't have anyone to knit for her. I am using some Malabrigo and the My So-Called Scarf pattern, and I'm pretty happy about how it looks. Excited! It's almost like an adventure!

But not quite.

11:22 p.m. - 2008-01-28
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter