monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My life is flat with no carbonation.

So I woke up in a room full of animals. It's not that unusual to find all three cats on my bed, but when the dog slid in and nervously sat as far away from the door as she could, I knew it had to be Suckaphobia fear of vacuums! Olga the cleaning lady came over today instead of last Friday.

I tried to go back to sleep and ignore her presence, but I couldn't sleep anymore, so I got up and wandered around the house, avoiding the areas where she was working. I noticed she was wearing an ugly crocheted snood, but I didn't mention it. If she wants to clean houses while wearing an ugly hat, that's none of my business, really.

Until she took it off and showed it to me. She was pretty proud of it, having made it herself, but she explained that it really wasn't quite what she'd wanted. Oh, wait a minute, it's all coming back to me now. A couple of weeks ago she mentioned that she would like me to make her a hat, and described a beanie, like the ones I make for my son-in-law, and I blew her off because I do not want to be in the business of knitting for Olga. I told her at the time that I had a lot of things I was working on, blah blah blah, and I thought that was the end of it.

So she showed me her lacy little snood and it wasn't terrible, it just reminded me of something an old dear would make and wear as she shuffled down the street, pulling a trolley behind her and collecting pop cans to sell for scrap metal. The next thing I knew, I was gathering up some yarn in shades of blue and letting Olga choose one, and then I was casting on. I've been knitting on Olga's beanie all afternoon. I hope she doesn't want anything else, I have a backlog of projects already! I feel a bit manipulated...

RA got back from her weekend trip to visit her daughter in Idaho, and she called to see if I wanted to go out for a soda with her. Yay! I grabbed my coat and went, just happy to get out of the house! We didn't do anything major, just got drinks and drove over to the bookstore to pick up something she'd ordered last week.

I should mention that I didn't get a soda, just a bottle of water, because I'm not drinking Diet Pepsi right now. Two weeks ago I read an article about how people who drink diet sodas are fatter, something I'd noticed on my own, actually, and I immediately started tapering down my soda consumption. I've been having just one regular soda a day since then, except, yuck! I hate regular soda! It's too sweet! So this weekend I just stopped drinking pop altogether. I was tired and slept a lot without my dear friend caffeine, but that's not such a bad thing. I don't have a lot of personality right now, which is why I haven't been writing my journal, but I'm sure I'll get over it eventually.

In knitting news, I finished my February socks, the Monkey socks in Koolaid-dyed yarn. Melissa told me the name of the March socks, but I can't remember it right now. If I finish the Beanie of the Damned tomorrow, I'll start the new socks. Maybe I should buy more sock yarn - I could pay for it with the money I'm saving by not buying soda!


11:18 p.m. - 2008-03-03
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter