monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which shoes equal love.

I got an email from my sister Sarah yesterday that was mostly about how beautiful my grandson Soren is and that she has been watching videos of him on Youtube because no one is updating their journal anymore, including herself, and it made me think about how I don't update as much as I used to, so I decided that I'm going to get back in the habit. I'm going to update daily for a month, just to get back in the habit. I know that nothing much of interest is happening, but that's okay, because when I read back on old journal entries, the small day to day stuff is what I enjoy reading, because it is the small things that are fun to remember.

So I'm starting today, and I might possibly miss a day or two because I am actually traveling right now, but by Monday I will be home and back at my own computer in my own house. Where I can document the minutae of my own life. No matter how dull.

Where am I now? I am in Provo, Utah, to pick up Kim and bring her home from college at BYU, and to attend Scott's graduation. Rich and I drove here in our mini-van with Buffy, and let me tell you what was really cool - he has some amazing thing that hooks him up to the internet so that even when we are driving down the highway, I can read his email out loud to him and type the answers on his laptop. Because he has to do business while we're traveling, being so important and indispensible at work, you know. So that was fun except that in Wyoming, there is no real signal, even with the cool hookup, and also, the cell phone connection was breaking up.

We listened to a book on CDs all the way here - Crisis by Robin Cook - which was very long and lasted the entire trip. I brought some Young Adult fantasy to listen to on the way home with Kim.

Yesterday we went to the Commencement exersizes for Scott's graduating class yesterday. There were almost 7000 graduates, so there was a huge crowd that filled the very large Marriot Center. Everyone around us was on their cell phone, frantically trying to tell their graduate exactly where the whole family was sitting, which was so ridiculous that it was annoying and amusing at the same time. "We're in the Y section, look up at the clock, now look down under it, Grandma is waving both arms! I'm waving my pink sweater!" and it went on and on like that forever.

We were packed into the bleachers like sardines and a young family with three little boys wearing identical ugly striped shirts was sitting behind us. Kim says the 3-year-old put his arm around her waist at some point, and she was feeling violated.

We had Soren with us and he was really in a good mood most of the time, and then he fell asleep, so he was no problem at all.

The program wasn't too long, so it was not unbearable, even though I forgot to take any knitting with me. It had stopped snowing (!) when we went outside afterward, and Scott had found a parking spot not far away, so it was lovely. I was wearing very comfortable new sandals, too, unlike when I went to Rachel's first college graduation in new pumps that tore up the backs of my ankles so bad they were bleeding and I had to take them off and carry them while I walked back to the car in my stocking feet!

Today is convocation, the diploma ceremony, and Kim is going to stay at the hotel to babysit the dog while Rich and I go back to the Marriot Center with Scott and Carolyn. The dog travels well, but can't be left alone in the hotel. Yesterday Rich had a big emergency at work so he stayed in the hotel with Buffy and the rest of us went to the program.

This morning we moved Kim out of her apartment and waited while she passed her cleaning check. We drove out with the van empty - we even took out the back bench seat and one of the middle passenger seats, so the dog had lots of room to ride, but it's packed to the ceiling now with Kim's stuff, including her big harp. There is a small nest area for Buffy to lay in, and the one passenger seat for Kim. Our gas mileage will be a lot worse going home, I'm sure.

Rich was shocked when he saw all of Kim's shoes piled on the bed in her apartment. I told him that Shoes Equal Love, and whenever she was having a hard time and I was feeling helpless to do anything for her, I sent her a new pair of shoes! He just shook his head and I bagged them up to go out to the car.

4:21 p.m. - 2008-04-25
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter