monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kim still wants to be a chef.

We got home last night about 6:30 and upacked the car quickly so Rich could go up to the office for a teleconference. The living room was full of boxes and bags of Kim's stuff, but she took most of it to her room, and we put the rest away today.

I'm still feeling bad with this cold, so I went shopping for groceries this morning and then spent the afternoon in bed, reading and staying warm. Kim brought her laptop up to my room and sat on the bed to keep me company.

After dinner, we went back upstairs, but at 8 we took a walk, because we said we were going to walk every day! We walked for 20 minutes, just down to the mailbox on the corner and back, about 4 blocks, and I was gasping for air! This cold has impaired my lung capacity!

We watched a movie tonight, Mostly Martha, a German movie with English subtitles. Kim knitted on a simple scarf in worsted weight wool that I started for her, and I worked on a lace scarf, also for her.

The movie was pretty good. It was the original that the movie No Reservations was based on. No Reservations is the movie that inspired Kim to want to be a chef, and she reminded me tonight that she is still interested in cooking, so we'll make some phone calls about that tomorrow.

I told Kim that she can make lasagna tomorrow for cooking practice! I love to have kids that can cook, because the only thing better than my own cooking is food that I didn't have to make!

*****

Before we left for Utah, the back of my phone fell off, so I put in a claim on my phone insurance and the new phone came while we were gone, so I took it to the phone store this morning and they did the magic that transfers the numbers from the old phone to the new one. I feel bad about sending back the old phone - it's really been through a lot and held up well.

That's the phone that Rachel ran over in the car, another time it fell into a snowbank and was found hours later, it's been dropped more times than I can count, and Rich knocked it into a glass of water just a few weeks ago and it still worked when it dried out (except for the camera). I've certainly gotten my money out of it, and that insurance was worth it, too! This is the second time I've made a claim on it.

Well, I think I'll go up to bed again. I don't have to go back to work until Wednesday night, thank goodness. I hope I can get over the worst of this cold by then!

10:42 p.m. - 2008-04-28
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter