monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I neglect to mention that I bought some Opal sock yarn online.

I'm still dealing with the cold. The worst is over, now I have a nose that needs blowing and a loose, chesty cough. It could be worse, but yesterday at the health food store with RA, I was coughing and I asked the owner if he had anything to suggest for my cold. He pulled down a box of tablets from the homeopathic medicine shelf and told me they are very popular. It was the last box, so obviously they are selling well. He said they are most effective if you start using them the first day that you get sick, but well, I was driving across Wyoming that day.

The homeopathic pills are supposed to be melted under the tongue, and these are bigger than ones I've used before, so they are like melting a piece of chalk in your mouth. Yum. I looked at the ingredients on the box, among which is listed Belladonna! Isn't that used as a poison in Victorian novels? I do think they are helping, it's just that they weren't an instant miracle cure.

I didn't do lot today. I got up early after going to bed late (I didn't work last night), because I told RA I would go to lunch with her. Have I mentioned before that she is a chipper morning person? I am the opposite of that, and I need to remember that I hate going out to breakfast with her early in the morning. (Except under rare circumstances, 9:00 is very early for me, and 10 is still too early.) I had to drink a couple of Diet Pepsis at breakfast, and even then she was getting on my nerves a little.

When I got back to my house, I went to bed. I've been sick! I need to take it easy, and I felt like crap, so I went to bed. I dozed for an hour or more - actually, I didn't get up again until 1. I had a hair appointment at 2, so I went to that, where they gave me more soda, and let me read a movie magazine (and take it home!), and after that I felt better. I love my salon. I've been going there for five years, and they are like family. Family that I have to tip, but family nonetheless.

Yesterday Kim wanted to ride her bike, and she didn't have anyone to ride with, so she just rode down to the fire station and bought a soda from the machine outside, and then rode back home. I suggested that she ask Sando, but she said he probably wouldn't want to because he is lazy. Later she was talking to him online and he was bored at home, so she invited him over to play video games for my entertainment, and while he was at our house, she told him about her bike ride and found out he loves to ride bikes. That led to their big bike ride today! She took her bike (well, a random bike from our garage, and Ash helped by lowering the seat) and put it in the back of my van, and went to Sando's house. From his house they rode to the big park, all over the park, and to a gas station for sodas. She was getting home just as I finished at the salon.

I was really hungry by then - it had been hours since breakfast - and I heated up some chili that I froze a couple of months ago. When I froze two containers of the leftover chili, I wasn't very excited about it, but today I added a can of diced tomatoes to thin it a little, and a squirt of lemon juice to brighten it up, and it was great. There were no crackers to eat with it, so I made popcorn!

After dinner Rich went out to mow the yard with the riding lawnmower. It's the first time he's used it since his dad gave it to us last year. Judy and Dave from next door were very amused. I heard him explaining that his dad gave it to him, and that it only took about 20 minutes to mow our lawn with it! I went out and admired his mower, and picked up some sticks. There are still plenty more sticks in the yard! Too bad dogs aren't more useful for yard work.

And here I am, back at work. I love working the weekends. It's quiet and peaceful, and I have more time to read and knit. I've got the Flame Lace Scarf with me to work on, and I'm going to read Bitter is the New Black. Is this not happiness?

11:20 p.m. - 2008-05-02
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter