monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So tired of traveling.

We're back! Rich and I (and Buffy) drove to Omaha last night, and this morning we picked up what was left of Grandma's things at Planet Crazy, and then drove back home.

We unloaded the car into the living room, and I called Diana to report on the trip as I did a preliminary sorting through the boxes. It's mostly books, with some random clothing and some pictures. I cried a little over a box of hankies - Grandma always carried hankies and encouraged us to use them, too. She thought it was more elegant than kleenex. I used a silk hankie to wipe my eyes and then I put the lid back on them.

I bought a book on CDs to listen to on the way to Omaha. It was Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card. About halfway through the first CD I told Rich I hated it, and he turned it off resentfully. We had to have something to listen to as we traveled, so I dug around and found a Mrs. Pollifax book on cassette tapes that I bought at a rest stop when we drove to Utah in April. That lasted most of the way to Omaha and then we listened to the radio until we got there. I suggested the audiobook of Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen that has been riding around in the car with me for years, but Rich just snorted at it.

He changed his tune on the way home this afternoon. When we stopped for gas just outside of Omaha, I went into the store to look for audiobooks, but there weren't any for sale there, and Rich sighed and told me to put in Northanger Abbey. There were four cassettes and we listened to three of them. The third one ended as we got into our town, so Rich asked me to just tell him how it ends. He said he didn't really want to listen to the rest. (He would if he was desperate enough!)

I like Northanger Abbey, and the reading was excellent, so I was knitting and enjoying the story. I had to keep explaining it to Rich because either his attention wandering or he wasn't getting it for some other reason. Maybe the unfamiliar language, I think that was part of it. Also, he kept waiting for the action, and while there is action, it's not the car chases and shooting that he likes. I apologized for the subtle irony of Jane Austen's writing and the lack of fist fights.

Anyway, we're home and glad to be here. Our bed is so comfortable, our pillows are familiar and have just the right amount of body, unlike the terrible pillows and hard mattress in the motel last night!

9:23 p.m. - 2008-05-10
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter