monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

But I'll probably just sit on my ass on the couch instead.

I know she was joking, but RA called me a lazy bum in an instant message this afternoon when I said I had just gotten up at 2 in the afternoon! Pardon me? I work nights! I sleep during the day! That does not make me lazy! Geez!

I'm all on edge with PMS today anyway, so everything is annoying! Kim is also feeling a bit pre-menstrual, so you can imagine how pleasant the atmosphere is at my house.

Rich gave Kim a job today. She will probably work less than ten hours a week, but it will give her a little money. She needs to feel like she's doing something with a purpose, too. Now that the fun of being home and being done with finals has worn off, she's starting to feel a little aimless.

She's just doing some data entry for him, but it needs to be done, and he's got other things to do, so it's good for both of them.

I got tired of my Baby Surprise Sweater today, and when I followed another link to a cute baby sweater (and I think this one is also from Karin), I liked the look of that sweater, so I bought the pattern. I downloaded it and then I ripped out the almost-complete BSS and used that yarn to cast on for the new sweater, the Lace Baby Cardigan.

I knitted a few rows of the Lace Baby Cardigan and then I found a mistake, started hating the pattern, and ripped out what I'd done. Aaugh!

I was using the organic wool I bought to make knitted pants for Soren, and I think that I'll just go back to making those pants with this yarn. I don't want to give wool baby garments as gifts to anyone else, but I know I can trust Carolyn to remember to handwash wool clothing.

I do want to make another BSS, because it's fun, and I've got lots of Encore to use for making machine-washable baby sweaters. In fact, I think I'll start another one soon. Oh wait, I just remembered what I don't love about the BSS - it's the sleeves! They're too short! They don't come all the way to the wrist. I guess it's probably a good thing to keep them short so they aren't in the way, but it looks clunky to me. Maybe if I saw an actual baby wearing the sweater it would help.

I just don't have anything fun to work on that I'm excited about. I have a big pile of movies to watch, and I need to just pick up that Dale sweater for Kim and force myself to finish it while I watch movies.

That sweater has been sitting in a basket in the living room since the last time I was on a finishing spree - back at the end of January! Since then Rich spilled a glass of Kool-aid all over the color chart, which was stuck to a cookie sheet with magnets to make it easier to refer to while I knitted. The cookie sheet covered the sweater and saved it from the Koolaid, but the chart is pink now.

If I could finish that sweater and get Kim's room cleaned this summer, I would consider that some very real accomplishment!

2:51 a.m. - 2008-05-20
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter