monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The woman who made the good french toast won this week!

We are getting rain every day, and it's been like this for a week! More rain is predicted for the next two days, then maybe there will be some clearing. Tonight Kim and I went out for a walk, and as we went out the front door she looked up at the sky and thought she'd just go back for the umbrella. Good thing she did, because it started sprinkling on our way home, and turned into a downpour! Very exciting, and we got pretty wet in spite of the umbrella.

There was a thunderstorm while we were in church this morning, and the church lost power! After the initial surprise, we continued with the services, expecting the lights to come back on any time, but Rich said it took over an hour. I went home right after Sacrament meeting - it was dark! Most of the classrooms have windows, so it wasn't like it was completely dark.

I've been off for three days, but I'm back at work tonight. The weather alert alarm keeps going off, with warnings of tornadoes, floods, and hail. It's a piercingly loud alarm, followed by a broadcast. Very annoying. With all the bad weather this weekend, I'm sure it's been going off a lot, and I'm glad I wasn't working!

What I'm knitting today:

1. Sock #1 of a pair of white nurses socks is finished. Plain 3X1 ribbing, with a 7-inch leg.

2. Sock #2 of a pair of striped Opal socks is just beginning. 20 rounds of 1X1 ribbing, then stockinette stitch (so relaxing!) for a 7-inch leg. I'm going to call them the Maize and Blue socks, but there are some stripes of purple and orange, too.

3. Sock #1, made with some silky superwash merino I bought from ...uh...I forgot the name. I'll look it up tomorrow. The color is denim and khaki, and I like it a lot. The yarn feels a little too thin, though.

4. Sock #1 of another pair of striped Opal socks that I started because I was tired of working with the thin, splitty, merino mentioned above. The Opal colors don't have names, just numbers, and think I threw away the ball band, but it reminds me of a cheetah, if cheetahs had blue and brown and mauve stripes. There is an area of black-spotted white that gave me the idea of a cheetah. Anyway, I'm calling those the Cheetah Socks.

I have a couple of sweaters started, but I'm really only working on the socks right now.

What I'm reading:

Hot Six by Janet Evanovich. I downloaded the first five books to my Kindle last week and read all of them, finishing the fifth one last night, so I bought two more at 3 a.m., because you can shop from the Kindle while lying in your bed! Some of these I've read before, but it's fun to read them all in order. Grandma Mazur is the shit!

What I'm watching:

The Next Food Network Star. I usually hate reality shows, but I enjoy this one, I don't know why. The contestants are interesting and likeable, and they don't seem to be mean to each other, so maybe that's what makes it watchable (for me).

11:35 p.m. - 2008-06-08
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter