monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which Buffy will need dog therapy because she is traumatized.

It's been a long day! I knew I had to get up at 12:30 to go with Rachel out to Kat's house to meet up with Kat and her mother to go to a bra party. Rachel worked all night, too, but we both managed to get up and after a stop at Taco Bell to get some ... breakfast? we were a little more awake.

A bra party is like a Tupperware party, only you get custom-fitted for a bra. It sounded like a good idea, and we were all excited. Until we got there and saw the bras, and listened to the consultant, and did I mention the bras?

The party took place at the home of someone that Kat met at Curves, and she had the ugliest living room I've ever seen, so that was depressing. I can't even describe the dolphin decor, it is just too painful.

The consultant was a bit off, but she was enthusiastic about her product, and showed us the styles of bra that were available. They only come in Nude and Black, and the Nude shade is hideously brown. The woman sitting next to me was disappointed that there weren't any pretty, lacy bras, and I had to agree that what we were seeing were blah bras.

Then the consultant started taking the guests, one at a time, off to another room for fittings. It takes time to find the right fit for each person, so there was quite a wait, and nothing to really entertain us while we waited.

The hostess invited us to the kitchen for snacks, because she doesn't allow food in the living room, but I just didn't want to eat standing up in her kitchen, so I stayed in my seat and knitted. Her mother came over to sit by me and strike up a conversation, but it wasn't so much conversation as an opportunity to tell me about the miracle Himalayan Goat Juice she and her entire family take to shore up their shaky health.

I was knitting (for my life) and nodding in an interested way as she told me about her female problems (and I am going to spare you the details - you're welcome), but finally Kat's mother came back to sit by me, which I thought would distract the Goat Juice lady, but she just went off to the kitchen to bring back some pamphlets about the goodness of Goat Juice.

I accepted a pamphlet, but didn't look at it, I just thanked her and dropped it into my purse, from which it has mysteriously disappeared, so I can't quote any of it for you. Rachel glanced over it and murmured to me that the guy who wrote it wasn't actually a medical doctor, which didn't surprise me one bit. Then Goat Juice Lady asked me if I was interested in making some extra income, and I said, "Nope!" and kept on knitting. Sheesh.

We had been there for two hours, and Kat needed to get back to her house to get ready for a date, so I told her to book a party and we'd go to hers and buy some bras, and then we made our excuses and left. Oh, but before we could leave, the hostess' grandmother came around with a little taste of Goat Juice for each of us. You know I tasted some! It smelled fruity and good, and it didn't taste bad, but ugh, I had the taste of Himalayan Goat Juice on my tongue for the next couple of hours until I could get home and get a Diet Pepsi!

Back at Kat's house, Rachel and I helped her pick a shirt to wear on her date, and inspected all of her jewelry, and played with her dogs, and on our way home, we talked about bras. Neither of us had a fitting at the party, but we agreed that it was a good idea. Too bad the bras were so ugly! We both think that it would be fun to be a consultant for some attractive bras, so I looked online when I got home and found some! I'm going to call and talk to someone about them next week - those bras are beautiful, and I want to let the other women at that party know about them! I was sitting next to someone who was really disappointed at what she saw today, and I would love to help her find a pretty bra like what she was hoping for!

Kim stayed at home with Buffy, and had already had the dog out for a walk when I got home, and told me she had fed the dog, too. I ordered Chinese food and sent Kim out to pick it up while I did my bra research.

We went to the store after dinner to get some pop and look for a Father's day gift for Rich. We know what we want but waited until the last minute to get it, like I always do, so Kim is going to draw a picture of it and we'll give him the actual present on Monday, because we couldn't find it at the store we went to.

When we got home with the soda, Rich was home! I was happy to see him, until he started raving about how he came in the house, and the dog raced up to him, desparately needing to go out, and the cat escaped while he was bringing his bags in, and the dishes weren't done, and he couldn't find his cell phone, which was really the problem. Oh, and the dog's bowl was empty!

As we searched for his phone, Kim told him that she had walked the dog this afternoon, and fed the little faker, and I said that I washed the dishes (by hand because our dishwasher is terrible) yesterday, for craps sake, and then we called some of the other people he'd been with and found his phone, so he could settle down. He doesn't usually act like that; all crazy and yelling when he can't find something (that's what I do), so I think he was just tired, but he upset the dog and she had to go hide in the den. I told her Daddy was yelling because she's a bad dog.

So Rich calmed down and started cleaning the kitchen, and then he opened the dishwasher and found that we never unloaded it while he was gone, so apparently Kim and I are just complete pigs, but at least we didn't pee on the floor like Someone's Dog did while we was away.

So that was my day, and I am back at work, waiting for a call to tell me how Kat's date went!

11:42 p.m. - 2008-06-14
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter