monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The outlook for the week is pretty grim.

I'm back at work tonight after my weekend off. I'm usually happy to be back at work, but I think I've already put my foot in my mouth, so that's not good.

It was Rich's birthday today, so it was birthday weekend, all weekend. Not that we did anything too wild, because we are, after all, old, but it was pleasant in a quiet, boring way. We saw two movies, Hancock and Get Smart, both of which we liked. I gave Rich his birthday present from Kim and I, which was a new handle for the storm door at the side of the house, and he got out a screwdriver and actually went right out and installed it, which is a practically a miracle!

We invited Ash and Rachel over to have hamburgers with us tonight, and I bought a little (I mean little, like the size of a cereal bowl!) birthday cake, and when I pulled the cake out to show Rachel, she looked kind of horrified, and said, "Is this Dad's birthday?" I thought she was kidding, but no, she had actually forgotten it. I wondered why she hadn't given him a card or some annoying toy, like the ticking toy grenade she gave him for Christmas.

Kim was gone all weekend house-and-dog sitting for Kat's three little dogs, and she got home this afternoon. She took her friend Britta with her for company, and I expected her to come home sick of being with one of her friends for two whole days, but she said that Britta isn't annoying like Catsy and Ana, so they had a good time. Huh. She told me those dogs are spoiled, and she mentioned the two-tiered hanging rack of clothes for the dogs, but she said they didn't dress them - they thought the dogs deserved a break! I would have been dressing them everyday! What is funnier than a Miniature Pinscher wearing a frilly tutu? Probably only a Scottie in hospital scrubs! (And there is a separate cupboard for their Halloween costumes!)

I'm not looking forward to being alone with our dog all week. Rich is taking Kim and Sando to Cedar Point, and they'll be gone from Tuesday to Friday, so that means it's just Buffy and me, all week long. I'm going to have Rachel and/or Ash come over to walk the terrible dog at lunch time while I'm sleeping and I plan to limit her access to water at night. I hope we can get through the week without her peeing on the floor while I am at work or asleep!

11:59 p.m. - 2008-07-06
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter