monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I dirtied a lot of dishes for someone else to wash.

By the time I got up today, Kim had already gone for a walk with Clark, who wanted to see some of the places they went when they were younger - they used to walk home from school together from the time they were in about fourth grade - so she said they walked to the park and around the area and talked about their memories. I thought they were too young to even have memories, but apparently I was wrong. So Kim took a long walk this morning, and that is why I didn't get a walk today, because I didn't want to make her take another one.

I called RA when I got up, but she had company, and couldn't go to BK for a burger, so I had to make my own breakfast. I made eggs and toast, and drank a Diet Pepsi. I ate in the den, sitting at the desk in front of my computer, and Kim was at her desk beside me, having returned from the walk and changed clothes (of course).

A few days ago I read an article on MSN about the positive health effects of gazpacho, and I had printed a recipe for it and shopped for the ingredients, but still hadn't made it, so after breakfast I announced to Kim that I was going to teach her how to peel a tomato, and we went to the kitchen to begin the Great Gazpacho Adventure.

It took us probably less than an hour to get it all made, including peeling tomatoes and chopping them, along with several other vegetables - cucumber, red pepper, red onion, and a lot of miscellaneous whatnot. It was fun to work on it together. We broke out the new blender I bought especially for this occasion, and pureed some of it, and then we put it all in the fridge to let the flavors blend.

Later when we tried the soup, well, it was okay. It was very tomato-y and onion-y, and the flavor was good, but here's the thing - I'm really not that excited about vegetables, or cold soup. When I talked to Diana later, she suggested that some avocado and cold shrimp would improve it, and I think I'll try it. I've got plenty of gazpacho to experiment with!

I went upstairs to get a nap before work and I never did fall asleep, so I guess I'll sleep good tomorrow when I get home.

11:01 p.m. - 2008-07-26
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter