monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Why I hate trees.

I really wish I lived at the South Pole right now, or in the middle of a desert, one with a lot of hilly sand dunes and some camels for transportation. I just want to live somewhere that does not have a bunch of freaking trees! Trees, everywhere, growing huge and old and dying from, I don't know, whatever trees die of, raccoon bites or Dutch Elm Disease or those caterpillars that make the big ugly nests.

Last week I couldn't sleep on Tuesday morning because of the noise coming from my backyard neighbor's house, and as I lay in my bed, cursing them, I thought it was more of their stupid home improvements, because every summer they have some big project going on, although after all these summers, you'd think they pretty much live in a palace. When I finally gave up at about noon, I found out that the noise was from the tree removal team that had been cutting down two trees and chopping them up to be carried away. By the time I got up, they were finished, so I ate some lunch and went back to bed and slept all afternoon.

This morning it was the neighbors next door, who are a lovely old couple, really nice people, but they know I sleep in the morning and yet they were banging and sawing something right under my bedroom window! Today I was smarter, and I got up and turned on the window air-conditioner so the droning would cover up the sound. I had to sleep under a blanket, but at least I could sleep! Later when I got up, Kim said they were having a tree cut down. The bastards.

So this afternoon I was talking to Sando's mom, and she said she has been teaching herself to knit! Who knew? I was very excited, and we had a pleasant chat about yarn, and also about the possibility of having a knitting group! I called a couple of other knitters and we're going to try meeting on Thursday evenings. We tried once before, but nothing really came of it, it kind of died out after one or two meetings, but maybe this time will be better. I don't care if we don't get a big group, I'll be thrilled if one or two people show up, really. I just like having someone to knit with.

Speaking of knitting, I'm working on something new! It's the new pullover from Chicknits! The name of it is Basic Chic Pulli, and I'm knitting it in deep blue Cotton Fleece. I actually vultured another project to get the yarn for this one - it was a half-done tank top that I was stalled on, and I really wanted to use this blue for the pullover, so I ripped it all out and cast on with the same needles to start the pulli. This one is for Kim, and I'm planning to make one for Carolyn, too.

I found out that Sando's mom likes to read, too, and she mentioned that she is interested in getting a Kindle! I was thrilled, because usually when I try to tell people about my Kindle, they have never heard of it and I have to try to explain it, but she knew all about it. I would have dragged it out to show it to her, but it was at home in the charger. Oh well, when she comes over for knitting group, I can show it to her then.

10:58 p.m. - 2008-07-28
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter