monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's been a slow weekend.

I went for a walk with Kim tonight, and the walk went relatively well, even the uphill part about halfway through, when you go through the cemetary and turn right. We had to slow down, but it was all fine, at least until we got home and my allergies kicked in. I don't know what is in the air out there, but it is something I run into late in the summer and early in Fall. Tree pollen? I don't know, but I took a faux-Claritan and it's starting to work now. My ribs will be hurting tomorrow from all the sneezing I've done tonight.

Last night I finished the Chic Basic Pulli for Kim that I started on Tuesday. It's beautiful and I took a picture of it. I will post the picture tomorrow. I started casting on immediately for another one in some marled blue/white Encore that I bought earlier this year. I'm going to make this one in the long-sleeved version, and when I'm done with this one, I have some pink Cotton Fleece to make one for Carolyn.

I want to make the cabled hoodie called Cassidy next, but I will have to look through my stash for the right yarn. I did a swatch for it using the Encore, but the marled colors detracted from the beautiful cables. I need to find a smooth yarn in a solid color.

What I'm reading now:

Just finished reading And Only To Deceive by Tasha Alexander. It's a mystery that takes place in the mid-1800s, written in Victorian style, kind of like an Amelia Peabody story, but not so annoying. It was entertaining, but I don't know if I would read another one. I'm not a big fan of historical fiction, but tonight I have another Victorian mystery called Silent in the Grave by Deanna Raybourn. Amazon keeps recommending things for me, this one has good reviews. We'll see how it goes.

I've read the first three Rachel Morgan books, where she is a witch who has a vampire for a roommate, and they are kind of bounty hunters. Like Stephanie Plum, only with magic. I would like to read the rest, but I need a break. I'm too conscious of the author's tics - you know how you start to see the same phrases occur in the writing when you read several books in a row by the same author? They are fun to read, though.

Obviously I've had a slow weekend; there's nothing to write about.

11:17 p.m. - 2008-08-03
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter