monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm more than a bird, I'm more than a plane...

I don't know what I was thinking tonight when I pulled the needles out of the white lacy sock - that sock had been sitting in a knitting bag for a while, and I had a vague thought that I would take out the needles, use them to start another, simpler sock, and then put them back with the white sock later.

As soon as I did it, I thought it was dumb, because the lace pattern on the white sock is simple and I could easily work on that while I watched a movie at Rachel's house. It's not like knitting in a theater where it's too dark to see the pattern and I can only knit something in stockinette stitch!

I put the white sock and the needles into my bag and took it with me to Rachel's, intending to put the stitches back on the needles and work on it during the movie, but when I got to Rachel's, first she fed me chips and salsa (she made the chips herself from corn tortillas!), and then no one else showed up to watch the movie, so I went home to take a nap before work instead.

So here I am at work, and I just pulled the sock and the needles out of my purse and put the stitches back on the needles. I knitted a couple of rows and have the pattern all lined up again, so I can work on that sock, which is the second of a pair.

There is another sock in my bag tonight, also the second of a pair, that just needs a few more rows of toe shaping to be done. That can be finished in a few minutes, and then I'll work on the white sock. I just wanted to get the white sock back on the needles before anything drastic happened, like (gasp!) dropping stitches!

What I'm reading tonight:

Gentlemen and Players by Joanne Harris. It's a murder mystery that takes place in a boys school, one of my favorite settings for a story! I love a mystery in a school setting - it's like a small village, that same feel of a group of characters who all know each other well. Like something by Agatha Christie; a cozy mystery.

What I cooked (but didn't eat) tonight:

I made macaroni and cheese with butternut squash, a recipe from a website called A Veggie Venture. I like butternut squash, and I like macaroni and cheese, and the picture with the recipe looked good, so I tried it. I haven't eaten any yet, because I took it out of the oven just as I was leaving to go to Rachel's, and then I came home and took a nap, and when I woke up I had to leave for work right away, so there hasn't been time. I'm looking forward to eating some tomorrow.

Kim was home this weekend, and we went to an orchard and did some shopping, but I didn't feel like writing about it when it was happening. I'll do it tomorrow. Stay tuned for tales of buying pumpkin fudge and petting smelly animals...

11:32 p.m. - 2008-09-16
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter