monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hiding your face in your hands.

I spent two and a half hours yesterday getting a new tire for my car. I took it in to get a new tire and when I got there, I asked them to put on new windshield wipers, and to change my oil, too. I didn't know they did oil changes, but when I found out, I told them to sign me up!

I bought a bottle of water from the vending machine, and sat down to read a book on my Kindle, and the book was so entertaining that I didn't even get upset when Carlos, the tire guy, came out and told me that two of my other tires looked very bad - one with dry rot, do tires get that? I just waved my hand and said, "Fine, give me all new *bleep*ing tires, then." He paused and then carefully said that I only needed two, that the other tire is fine. Well, okay then.

So my car is all fine and happy with new oil, new wipers and three new tires. I just hope the engine doesn't fall out or something.

The book that I was enjoying so much that the time in the auto-shop waiting room just flew by was Agnes and the Hitman by Jennifer Crusie and Bob Mayer. Diana recommended it, and she was right, it was a fun read.

Now I need something equally entertaining to read on the plane when I fly to SLC on Thursday. You know how I feel about flying! I'm prepared, though, with Xanax, gum, and some pills I bought called Happy to Fly. I saw them at the grocery store and I snapped them right up! I'm looking forward to feeling the happiness! I don't know what's in them, they are supposedly all-natural, and I'm just going to go with that.

Kim took my big suitcase to college, so I borrowed one from RA. It's bright red! That will be easy to pick off the luggage carousel! Not like my smaller case, which is generic black and everyone in America has one just like it, as I discovered the first time I flew with it. I tied a piece of bright pink Malabrigo yarn on the handle when we came home from LA so that I could find it easily, but I never found out if that trick worked since that was the time the airline lost our luggage and it took a week to get it back. I kept watching for my suitcase with the yarn marker coming down the carousel, but it never came...

What I'm knitting today:

I'm still ignoring the two sweaters that need sleeves in favor of working on smaller projects. I'm making some beanies for the kids in the Roadshow, for one thing. Beanies are fast and easy, and people like them. Still working on the Alligator scarf of doom. I pick it up and do another bump ridge when I'm watching TV, and it's coming along slowly. It will be so cute when it's done!

My purse knitting is a plain ribbed sock in fuschia solid Opal. So pretty! In fact, it's so pretty, I think I might rip it out and reknit it with a little bit of a texture pattern, because the color is so beautiful, I hate to waste it on a plain sock! Also, a sock with a pattern will be more distracting when I knit on the plane. I need the distraction so I don't think about the flying!

Okay, Rachel and Ash just showed up at work to use my fax machine! Woot! Company!

11:14 p.m. - 2008-09-23
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter